Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Man Simulator

by Drtizzle - Compo Entry

MAN SIMULATOR

You have woken up without a beard!!!
And now you'll have to get your manlyhood back.

Perform 2 manly tasks to grow your beard back and be a real man again!

Press ESC in-game for graphics options

***Since someone in the comments did not believe I made all the music myself, I have uploaded the audio files of the Motorcycle song***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#17Humor4.00
#115Audio3.58
#178Fun3.61
#235Mood3.35
#300Overall3.47
#315Graphics3.41
#375Innovation3.33
#790Theme3.28

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20am

Your audio and graphics are good, but disgusting?

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Very quirky, in a good way. Art is really well-made, but the controls are rather fidgety.

Good luck in the compo!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

nice, cool game

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Won with 12 man points, beefy! Good use of the two button controls theme and mixing up gameplay styles in a limited amount of time. Nice audio btw.

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

AWWW YEAH. I did like this game a lot, sad there's no more mini games.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52am

I told you in my stream, but I loved it! Takes dedication to live record audio. Now I feel like a man. Many many stars for you :)

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I actually really liked the driving part. I dont know why, something feels right to it. Wish it had more to it, maybe turns, pickups, etc. Also, im pretty sure that rock/metal music is not yours, so im not gonna rate the audio category fro this game.

Tragon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

That was... something different.
Disgustingly good

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Nice entry. I liked the game-over screen.

Yumi and Zumi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:18pm

God the sound when you open the mouth. Horrifying but great!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Saw your reply. Sorry i doubt it was your music. Changed my rating for audio now ;)

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Funny little game. Art style reminds me of something you might see in Wario-Ware along with these types of random tasks. All I can say is I'm glad to have gotten my beard back.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

I really liked what I was able to see of this game. The minigames were pretty fun once you knew what to do, and the graphics and music were great!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Haha, Really enjoyed playing this game.
Well done :)

goed gedaan

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42pm

This game is oozing of style! Nice work!

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

As others have already said: This game is disgusting. I love it.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28am

Grat game, 2D and 3D. The bike part was too hard for me.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40am

I can't get over how gross the beer opening part is. I think the sound effect is what really makes it.

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Short, but very funny

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Amusing game.

I didn't realise how much you had to rush on my first two play-throughs. I failed miserably and then won at the end.

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:15am

nice sound effects! I had to go so fast on the motorcycle part. Got it with 9 secs left. It was really funny to see car I may have ran into suddenly hurtle through the street where i had bumped into them.

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:25am

SO
MANLY
Avoided being stripped off my manliness just by 2 points.
Great work, amusing graphics and fitting music (got really pumped up in the motorcycle section!)

mukult says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Rofl!!! Good game!!

miwuc says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Aww yeah! 16 points! Fun little game. Slightly disappointed by the lack of actual bar fight, but I imagine you ran out of time (what with having both 2D and 3D in a single game!)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:44pm

The use of the theme was great and liked the variety that you were able to add with all the mini games which all worked as a whole.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Really cool ways to use just two buttons!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]