Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cyber Dragon

by mathijs750 - Jam Entry

XP-5, the newest Cyborg Dragon Prototype, has escaped the laboratory!
Use your mouse and two buttons (of choice) to get him out of the city #freethedragon


Milly Games: Abe Vos, Mathijs Lemmers, Lotta Andriesse
Audio: Lars Tesselaar, Kevin Gwydion

Note: Game might be badly optimized for your system

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Graphics(Jam)4.09
#219Audio(Jam)3.55
#227Mood(Jam)3.60
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#449Fun(Jam)3.23
#737Humor(Jam)2.20
#757Innovation(Jam)2.76
#975Theme(Jam)2.86
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

i won, owned

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Wow, fantastic 3D game, impressive! I managed to get used to play, is quite intuitive. I found out that when hit the building you get stuck, at least on my pc, but otherwise, a great game! Good luck! Stefan (Tyrants.not.found.team)

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12am

Gameplay was great and simple, I quickly understood what is going on, and graphics are amazing, that dragon looks and moves just awesome! Everything fits together, I really enjoyed it :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:01am

The 3D impresive, but I only can play windowed. I've crashed with gun over the tower and the dragon sticks to it so I couldn't play anymore

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:04am

Nice!
Can't figure out how to use lacer :-с

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05am

@NoWandStudios Thanks for the bug report. A game over screen should have triggered when you hit the tower.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:06am

Awesome game, the graphics and music are amazing ! just a few issues gameplay wise though, the text on the how to screen seems to be chopped off, and i also had the issue where i hit a building after playing quite some time and got stuck dragging the building along :p

awesome game though !

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:06am

@Si1ver hold down the right mouse button until the blue bar is full.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54am

BEST LUDUM 34 GAME

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:14pm

I ram the house... with my dragon =)
Interesting variation of shoot'em'up mechanic

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I actually enjoyed the PS1 style graphics on this one because they really fit the overall look of the game. I also had the problem with the buildings getting me stuck.

sim9 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I LOVE the idea of a r-type dragon game <3

Digged the art style. The chargeshot/bomb weapon I didn't find useful at all. Needed more variation for enemies. Great music! I kept faceplanting on the buildings

Would play more of this if you were to work on it more after the jam. #FREETHEDRAGON :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:13pm

What the charge shot? It's useless!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]