Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Formula Wroom

by Benlitz - Compo Entry

Theme: Two button controls

Formula Wroom is a racing game where you drive your car on a rail. Control with only two buttons: one to accelerate, one to jump on the other rail of the track.
Overtake your opponents by jumping on empty lanes, but beware of the speed! If you drive too fast your car will derail out of the track.

This game was made using Xenko engine.

REQUIREMENTS: .NET 4.5 and Visual Studio 2015 Redistributables:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Fun3.73
#182Innovation3.68
#233Theme4.00
#278Overall3.50
#340Humor2.67
#359Audio2.90
#406Graphics3.23
#444Mood3.00
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25am

Realy good idea, these old circuits where going too fast crash you where so cool. Beating the yellow car is kinda hard. Keep up the good work

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21am

nice game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

It took me a while to figure out how to play it correctly, but at last i managed to win! The time is 24:5

holgk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice game but it crashed after a while.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Good work, dynamic and fun race.

ruerob says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Good work! It's really fun to play!

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I like the name! :-) The concept is great and I like the animation of car switching the lane. It's really hard to beat the yellow card. Also I think it should be 5 lap race, 3 is quite short for me.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:02pm

It seems like it crashes if you press S too quickly. Otherwice it was a good game.

TimBeaudet says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I liked the concept and as a fan of racing the title screen lured me to play and figure out what it was. I tried about 5 races but couldn't figure out the trick with the turning. Seems there is some magical speed where you fly off the track, but there is no feedback of when that might occur. I never finished above last because of this. Good entry, just needs some more feedback for the player.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Oh the childhood memories.
It looks and plays nice. if only there would be some speed indicator to know when you go too fast.

Overall great entry.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Haha, nice! Brings back memories! :)

Benlitz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Actually I tried to put a speed gauge, but it turns out to be quite boring... your eyes focusing on the gauge only and not on the track, to stay below the threshold while jumping from time to time.

In reality these toys didn't have a speedometer (at least my friend's one didn't) so you had to guess the speed limit that makes you derail.

To answer Tim about how it works, there is actual physics calculation because I wanted to add different kind of turns (more or less sharp) but didn't have time. But basically it's just like a speed limit that applies in curves. It is somewhere around 15.5 (arbitrary), while the AI of each car tries to maintain a constant speed, of 10 for the slowest up to 13.5 for the gold car. Note that it's OK to drive over 15.5 as long as you slow down to that limit before entering a turn. I didn't make the other cars go too fast (over the limit) because I didn't have time to make them smart enough to decelerate before a turn.

The only thing I really would like to have added is that opponent cars could jump to switch lanes, just like you. Now it's too easy, once you reach the gold car, you just need to "drive safe" till the end because it will remain stuck behind you.

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Pretty cool gameplay! Maybe I didn't understand the use of the jump, I was able to go through other cars!
Awesome entry!

zulman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Jump in racing to change the roadline is awesome idea :) Keep going! Try our Let's Play Simulator 2016, i will be happy to hear feedback from you :) http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

SamH says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:23am

Perfect childhood Sunday afternoon simulator. I’d play a more challenging version (I consistently won all races after the 3rd try).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]