Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Dungeon

by tGiant - Jam Entry

Snake Dungeon is my twist on the classic Snake game.
I tried to include both themes Growing and Two Button controls in my game.

How to play:
1. On a pc you can control the snake with left and right arrows or mouse buttons. On android there is on screen buttons.
2. Try to collect all diamonds in a level which will open the portal.
3. Try not to go into a wall or any obstacles.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#371Fun(Jam)3.33
#462Mood(Jam)3.28
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#563Humor(Jam)2.57
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#863Innovation(Jam)2.59

Comments

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02am

Nice fun and little game :)

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16am

Decent snake clone/dungeon exploration game, the level editor was rough, but a nice touch.

forer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15am

Pretty good little game, I really liked that it was unique and handled very well

My primary problems with the game are, I didn't like the fact that you had so much screen space and decided to add in a light ring to see in. If that's the range I was supposed to see, why not just zoom in to that range.

I also was not fond of the menu controls, as I thought with the two buttons I would be just using left and right and pressing both for the actual selections, and needing to use the mouse especially after failing a level was rather painful.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

game is good, level design may be improved by increasing difficulty slower

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Classics are never getting old!

davidB says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Nice variation, I stopped at level 3. The collision area of the exit point seems smaller than the display. (The looser complains).

Dokthar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Very nice entry. Fit right in both themes, good job, you make me appreciate snake i did all 5 levels. Only the editor is a bit buggy but that's not a big deal.

tGiant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:01am

Well the editor weren't suppose to be there.
But thanks for all the feedback.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Pretty basic but fun

Ampera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Fun game. It is a nice innovation on the game of snake.
My biggest problem was not hit detection really, but the fact you can move to any position, and then have a hard time trying to position yourself just right to enter. It seems a bit unfair in that respect, and my largest suggestion is to make it so you can only go on a 2D graph paper style grid. So you don't have to guess if you are in the right position to make it through a tunnel.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:44am

I'm really impressed that you made an editor, that's a great achievement for such a short competition. I like the idea behind a more claustrophobic kind of snake, with narrow winding hallways etc, but I think the level design could be improved a bit. I can see that you were doing things that are fun for a game designer, like hiding stuff behind the player's spawn rather than things the player would enjoy. This is an easy trap to fall into. I think the game would also be better if growing affected the gameplay in some way rather than being purely visual. This could really work in the game's favour as it could become a puzzle based game where you have to figure out which diamonds to collect in which order so that you aren't too big to navigate the maze properly.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Even if it's a simple idea that already exists, you made it to seem a little more difficult, and fun!! We really liked the audio, and maybe it would need a better way to show collisions, but else it's good!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]