Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hyperspace

by OccamsRazor - Compo Entry

Welcome to Hyperspace! My hectic, arcade-y space shooter. I've attempted to incorporate both themes into this game.

So you've found yourself in quite a situation. Your ships engines are stuck on full power, your weapons are firing out of control. All you can do is steer your ship and hope to survive the waves of enemies coming after you.

Survive 5 minutes and you can jump safely in to hyperspace.

Gather scrap from destroyed enemy ships and your own ship will GROW(see what I did there) in size and power, and will hopefully help you survive until then end.

Left/Right arrows or A/D to turn left and right. That's all you have for controls!

Also, you can press M to mute the music, and N to mute the sounds.

Update: Web Player version seems to have a bug when you hit 'Play Again'. Possibly caching objects between scenes which is screwing things up. Refresh if you want to play a second time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#98Fun3.76
#206Overall3.61
#340Humor2.67
#372Theme3.86
#376Graphics3.30
#405Mood3.06
#500Audio2.60
#752Innovation2.65

Comments

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

Audio got on my nerves, but I kept playing and having fun!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

Hi, WebGL won't start once loaded, and Source link actually link to WebGL player :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20am

Cool little fun game!

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25am

That was fun! After you get the rear shot though I felt like you could just run from the enemies for the most part but I liked the upgrades and increasing difficulty. The story made everything fit.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

The controls are a little slippery. More thrust would be nice.
Nice game, nonetheless. Beautiful on full screen.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

I really liked the enemy design and movement! It felt much better than the typical "charge straight at you" method. Good job!

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

That was fun! Loved the story introduction. Very good difficulty curve for me, barely made it. Audio was cool, too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

A cool little game. I think it should end when you get max upgrades though, or at least show some indication that you have won.

It reminds me of bosconian.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58am

Very fun arcade game! The intro was a big plus. Best part was the difficulty. Not too easy, very challenging but not impossible or frustrating. Very cool!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

Feels a lot like bumper cars actually, which is pretty fun

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23am

fun arcade game

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Nice. I like physics - simple ans effective. HTML5 wersion working great

Mattress says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

When I pressed "Play Again", I was taken to a test screen where the enemies didn't fire or move...

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Interesting movement mechanics, took a bit to get the hang of. Great game!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36am

I'm not usually a fan of games with these sort of sliding controls but this is done quite well, the upgrading mechanic really makes this game. The graphics are good and the soundtrack, while simple, really sets the mood. Nice work!

ripatti says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Excellent! Althought I finished the game at the first attempt, the 5 minutes of the gameplay were very fun. I like upgrade system of my ship.

I suggest the survival mode, where you have no limit of 5 minutes (imagine the hyperspace module is completely broken) and you should survive as long as you can.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Very good spacial game!

Pepejson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Nice game concept, upgrading is really intresting.

Thembi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I enjoyed it. Once you get max upgrades you pretty much just wreck everything you come across, haha.

scorched says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Not bad, you should work on sound and spacing between words :-)

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:24am

At first I thought that as you got upgrades the game would just get easier, but the increase in enemies kept it interesting. It seems like when you upgrade the ship, the hull only increases by a bit, but maybe I had taken too much damage.

DeltaNegative says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:56am

The gameplay is awesome! :D

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Apart from the painfully long loading times for the WebGL version, this was a rather fun entry.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Cool game. I think I agree with what TerraCottaFrog had to say.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]