Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Klodowski

by SK16 Games - Compo Entry

Klodowski is growing up. He's a baby and you are helping him through his life, using two buttons.

---------------------------------------

I didn't have a lot of time this LD, but I still thought "why not try something new?". I made it entirely in HTML/JavaScript(/CSS). It is one of my first html projects in general, and my first "game". Also, it's more of an interactive story than a game-game.

Made with Notepad++ and Photoshop. Tested in Firefox. (Also, there's no sound, didn't have time for that)
Source? Right click > view source. It's just that one document.

---------------------------------------

I hope you like it! Leave a comment and I'll check out your game too! :)


http://twitter.com/SixtenKastalje
http://hummus99.neocities.org/klodowski/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Humor4.05
#130Mood3.58
#216Graphics3.64
#233Theme4.00
#267Fun3.45
#412Overall3.32
#692Innovation2.77
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

SpoilerAlert:Wow funny game.... played it twice... cause i wanted to know what will happen if i was not choosing the html5 book. +1 for the story +1 for the mom artwork :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:26am

lol XD well done

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:08pm

nice story, nice graphics. not much of a game but good as it is.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:26pm

If you're going for this kind of game, I recommend placing the two buttons in the same place at every step, preferably close to each other. Minor adjustment, but feels better to control.
Extremely minor adjustment, really. Don't let that distract you from the fact it's pretty cool (you know, your game)!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Hah, this is a pretty decent point + click interactive story. I did play twice just to see what the other options were. I also really liked the graphics - their style lent itself to the humor :P

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Very fun ^^ I guess I've found all the endings ^^ Good job ^^

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:40pm

This was quite fun! Especially liked those non-working buttons.

Is there supposed to be some audio? I don't get any..

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:56pm

"You can't go back" T_T

vortex says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:50am

Great Game, really fun to go back and join ISIS instead of studying html, but the not working buttons confused me...
I tried pressing a few times... You could have added some feedback, that the button is not meant to be pressed

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Cute little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

SamH says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:23pm

I laughed more than a few times and probably did 20 different playthroughs. Not bad at all, congrats! You should add more microtransactions!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]