Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AirC.A.T

by TsFreddie - Compo Entry

This game is about a cat and a group of *ugly* birds.

Theme selection:
Two button controls

Controls:
LMouse, A, F or LCtrl = Button 1
RMouse, D, J or RCtrl = Button 2

Basic idea:
You can use only two button to control 4 weapons and your movement(well, just moving or stop)

Weapons:
Normal bullets: Press any button to fire a bullet.
Arrow: Hold a button to charge the bow, then press the other button while holding the first one.
Laser: Hold a button then release the same button.
Nuke: Hold both button then release.

Known issues:
1.Bullets are hard to see.
2.No learning curve or tutorials make control a little confusing.
3.That HUD uh..

Note:
0.The hitbox is on the HEAD.
1.AVOID WHITE BULLETS!
2.Each weapon has its own indicator.
3.Press any button can make your character stop. Try to find some tricks to avoid bullets.
4.If you charged Bow and Laser at the same time, you can actually control which one will be triggered.
5.You may need use all weapons as soon as possible when BIG bird coming out to defeat it.

About web version:
The project has some problem with rendering under WebGL and WebPlayer :(
I'm still trying to fix it. But compiled version is fine.

[Update]
Finally got WebGL working! horray!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#142Graphics3.86
#165Audio3.41
#167Fun3.62
#182Humor3.10
#193Theme4.06
#202Overall3.62
#267Mood3.30
#334Innovation3.39

Comments

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

Really creative way of dealing with such a limiting theme. Great graphics, solid gameplay, (though it takes a bit to get used to the controls), nice sounds, the works. Amazing job!

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

Feels like a real game! Love the sounds.

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24am

I went to spaaaaace. Fun game. Although I didn't recognize the white bullets as such and was wondering for a long while why I'm getting damaged all the time.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

Wow a lot of control for just two buttons, and in a really original way. Nice work on the design!

The art is also amazing, and changing from day to nice is a really nice touch. Sound was also good.

This a great all-rounder compo entry!

Luxorix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

Very good!

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34am

Decent little game! The controls take some getting used to.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01am

Some interesting gameplay with two buttons, well done !

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

really nice design!, love it, this got really good potential to be a great mobile game, very fun, with quite lot of skill that you smartly utilize only by 2 buttons
nice job dude

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

I love it. The pixel art is first class and I especially enjoy listening to the music.

euske says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05am

Love the badass cat. The control was a bit confusing, but nonetheless very original. Great game!

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08am

Pretty awesome! I love how so many things can be done with just two buttons. Very cool music and very cute visuals too!

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39am

Liked the cute graphics and how I could pick which cat I wanted to be!

Arowx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Well done.

Tyler says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Great game! I keep wanting to play it, so you've nailed the addicting aspect down! Great graphics, great use of the theme as well (which provides a nice learning curve). Good work!!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Really fun. Played a lot of rounds. It was a bit hard to know when I could select the 4 types. Keep going with the idea.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26pm

This is a great title. Nice retro feel, good controls and sounds. Fun overall. Good work.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Very nice graphics :) Good entry

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Very original and creative and nice graphics.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Good idea for the game. The controls are a bit weird since the character don't respect directions and I got invulnerable at some point.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52am

Pretty cool game! The controls took a bit of getting used to, but otherwise it's actually pretty challenging!

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Nice control scheme and fun gameplay :)

NoradZero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

Nice gameplay! Just wondering if there is a way to throw an arrow ? i could only shoot a laser but very nice still!

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

You need to press the other button while holding the first one to shoot the arrow.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Awesome game love the way it plays. The gameplay feels really solid

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

Really great job on getting a cohesive game together! I like the pixel art a lot

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08am

As I said on the stream, this is a very well executed use of limited input. The game has nice art and good gameplay. There are a few issues that I also mentioned but overall I would play a mobile (and polished) version of this.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Very nice graphics and music, controls are nice too. A very creative way to use the 2 button theme.
Good job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

awesome, nice and colorful visuals, very creative gameplay, well done :)

Headmade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:21am

Nice music!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:39am

I love the music and the pixel art. really solid game and its about cats! :D

dvdfu says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:07pm

I like how every combination of controls is explored! Cute entry.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Neat concept, really fun little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

graebor says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Interesting way of using 2 buttons :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:36am

Best multiple-weapons-using-button-combinations I've played all jam!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]