Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Apartment-block Agriculture

by Rob_Haines - Jam Entry

Have you ever felt the urge to nurture greenery from seed to full-grown salad vegetable? Have you looked at someone driving a ten-ton hunk of rusting iron farm machinery and said "I could do that?"! Is the sum total of open space available in your life a remarkably spacious balcony hanging off the side of your studio apartment?

Well, do we have the game for you! Plant seeds! Water things! Watch them grow! Devour the fruits of your labours in one life-affirming yet otherwise unsatisfying mouthful!

Apartment-block Agriculture is the meeting point between our desire for a garden to call our own & the cold reality of an apartment-based existence, inspired by Harvest Moon & Ludum Dare 34.

Game by Rob Haines (@rob_haines) & Jenny Haines (@SnarkyLamassu)

Instructions:
- Arrow keys to move
- X key to pick or water plants, or to plant seeds. Use the door to progress to the next day.
- Once you've harvested your produce, press Tab to craft it into a delicious dish. There are ten recipes to discover! Happy cultivating!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#753Humor(Jam)2.16
#800Mood(Jam)2.78
#830Theme(Jam)3.25
#865Graphics(Jam)2.67
#910Overall(Jam)2.84
#1016Fun(Jam)2.35
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

It's an interesting concept, I enjoy it!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Can't play windows games.

Robin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Kinda relaxing, but a bit too slow in my opinion.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17am

nice game!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Well it exactly shows what it supposed to, "desire for a garden to call our own & the cold reality of an apartment-based existence". I enjoyed playing your game, maybe there is not much to do but it is also somehow relaxing.

micky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:23am

interesting game :) , i found myself playing this for ages, great job

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:27am

Sorry, but I just don't think a solo player sim game could be fun..

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Simple, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]