Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Money Tree

by vogon101 - Compo Entry

Money Tree

Welcome to Money Tree. A game all about growing your profits as large as you can. Buy stocks when they're down and sell them to make the most money. Grow your net worth (the sum of your stocks and money) and reach $1,000,000 to win. Borrow money from the bank to make even more money but be careful, the bank will relentlessly take money to pay back you debt. If you end up with more than $100,000 of negative equity, you will be declared bankrupt.

It seems to work best on chrome/opera. Firefox has a bit of trouble with the ticker, as does edge and IE just simply does not work. To play it on the ludum dare site, I suggest you use full screen.

Downloads and Links




pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Hahahahaha, this is pretty cool! :) Literally my only small comment is that I would love that, if I sell more stock with a larger stock button than I have, it sells it all. Otherwise, awesome!

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I quite liked this concept, with some polishing this could turn out to be a great game.

There's just too many things going on, and it's kind of hard to keep track of what you bought and how many times you bought that.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I don't why, but as soon as I invested in Google my net worth plummeted and when I got out, it went back up again. I cry foul. Fun though, using somebody elses money.

vogon101 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Elenesski, I think you probably just got unlucky with when you bought it. If you buy just before a tick (every one second) and GOOG goes down then, you will lose money. The net worth is just your money added to the value of your shares. The other point is that when calculating your networth the game uses the sell price of the shares. This is always slightly lower than the buy price so it is easy to lose money.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I'm really bad at these types of games, don't have the patience for all the numbers! Still, it's a cool concept and I like that you can sort of choose your own difficulty by following as many stocks as you think you can handle... for me that was 1 :P

f7f5 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Really chaotic (and, it seems to me, random). But I like the original take on the theme.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Very crude but nice game, i actually want to beat it, but it seems quite impossible x)

matiz982 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Game looks great and shows how work Stock Exchange

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Pretty cool stock market simulator game. I would have suggested adding a pause button since the tickers update too fast to understand what's going on (maybe a game speed setting might be better) but that would probably make it less realistic.

acotis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Aaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I can't! Cool game, but the ticker is too fast for me :)

Markus Brand says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Cool concept!
There was quite alot going on at the same time and you really need alot of patience and luck to reach 1.000.000$.
More news and stock prices depending on them would be really cool. That would require some information to every stock. The player would feel better when he is doing well then, because it wouldn't be completly luck-based anymore.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:46pm

I always get a kick out of seeing business sims of various descriptions in Ludum Dare, as it's an underrepresented genre for sure.

mr. a says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:54pm


It's intimidating, over-busy, frustrating, and hard to look away. A remarkable similarity to real life.

Really wish you could view graphs of individual stocks to see their trend. Would be nice if the buttons had hover states, too.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:06am

I played this for nearly an hour. Please keep working on it!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

I can appreciate the work that goes into this but this game/genre simply isn't my thing.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:24am

Well, I say there and stared at the screen for a while, and clicked a few buttons, but I was unable to make any money. It's reminiscent of a stock market game I played eons ago, and it could be more fun if I had more info about what I bought and how much I bought it for. I couldn't remember if I was going to make a profit or if I should hang onto it a little longer. I think there is something here. If not a stock market game, at least the underpinnings of some kind of economic backend to a strategy or RPG game.

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Unique idea for the theme but it's well implemented as far as I can tell. I found it really hard to keep track of all the stock prices, so I'd often lost some good opportunities. But I'm not well versed in the stock market anyway. :)

Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:37pm

It's a neat concept, and I can see how it might suck someone in. One thing that could have been helpful is an "average" price of each of the listed stocks over the last few minutes to make it easier when you first jump in.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:52am

good idea

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]