Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Surf a Turf

by daandruff - Compo Entry

!!! There was a severe bug where on some systems you couldn't press Ctrl and Right at the same time. Furthermore the level loading was broken on other systems. Both these bugs are now solved. If you still have problems, try empty your web-cache !!!

!!! Level loading was wonky on some systems and you couldn't get past tutorial levels. This has now been fixed. Also if the game seems to run buggy, try downloading the binary versions of it (Mac is up now, Win and Linux is on the way) !!!

You control the little robot named Ludwig. With his help you will travel across the land and water all the flowers to help them grow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Graphics4.00
#116Innovation3.81
#133Overall3.74
#147Theme4.11
#190Fun3.59
#290Mood3.26
#502Humor2.33
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

daandruff says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:07pm

The HiScore is only local, so don't worry about getting beaten ;)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

Awesome game! I doubt California would approve though :P

Personally, the only thing I would change would be to remove the 'ticking' from the music—the ocean waves are very nice but the ticking is driving me crazy like Captain Hook!

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27am

!!! There was a severe bug where on some systems you couldn't press Ctrl and Right at the same time. Furthermore the level loading was broken on other systems. Both these bugs are now solved. If you still have problems, try empty your web-cache !!!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47am

I actually really enjoyed this, one of the best games so far

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33am

This is a cool game, I'm a real fan of the art style. I think though, that the game is a bit easy, if watering the plants is seen as optional. I could imagine something like jump-pads that push you to the left would give the game more difficulty.

But don't worry though, you get a good rating from me, it was a nice game :)

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

I really enjoyed the atmosphere, the environment. It was very calm, and there was some nice-looking graphics. Pretty fun! Well done.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21am

Great little game with lots of polish :)

Background tick gets annoying fast, otherwise it's a complete product :D

Good luck!

Waynetron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Cool mechanic. Art style is great. Movement feels a bit slow and floaty. Also spacebar causes the browser to scroll when I tried to play the embedded version

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Sound is a little weird and I got stuck in a platform, but I like the idea and it seems well executed!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Enjoyed playing this, good game.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Very good idea for two buttons game! Very fun little game, plays very well, sometimes the water tanks are easy to miss though.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Quite cool. I love how you can grow flowers if you water them enough. Also, they dont blossom if they dont receive enough water. Good game :)

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38am

Fun mechanics, enjoyed it :)
But as d_0o_d said, it is a bit too easy if you choose not to water the plants.
Making each level require a number of plants grown in order to complete it might not be a bad idea.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24pm

A rather nice and relaxing game. Screw the flowers, flying is where it's at!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Really cute, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19am

Very enjoyable game, I liked the concept of the water.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:58am

Love the retro style! The game is rather simple, but I completed it all! The advice is to make the game tell the player clearly when he/she is out of water, because several time the hero stopped moving, and I thought it's a bug :-)

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Extremely cool graphics! The gameplay and sound is nice too! Overall a really relaxing and well-made game. Excellent work Daandruff :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]