Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

It's Cupid, Stupid

by SidewalkSleeper - Jam Entry

It's Cupid, Stupid tells a tale about the man searching for his soulmate. Luckily for him, a benevolent cupid decides to help him out with his magic arrow. The person this arrow hits immediately falls in love with our hero. The problem is, this arrow's magic is pretty weak, but the longer it flies the more it grows -- and the happier the couple gets.

Controls: press Up and Down buttons to change the trajectory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#226Innovation(Jam)3.54
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#382Theme(Jam)3.81
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#487Fun(Jam)3.19
#584Mood(Jam)3.13

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

ReferenceError: _ is not defined graphics.js:16:5
ReferenceError: _ is not defined input.js:22:5
ReferenceError: _ is not defined geometry.js:79:5

:(

Game doesn't start.

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55am

Okay, first my problems with the game; every damn time I would hit someone, want to read the text and I would still have my hand down on the arrow - Nope, no text for you. Also the men riding down will catch you more times than they won't as you can't alter your speed that well. Apart from the weird graphical glitches I really enjoyed what I could see of the game. Good Luck!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58am

5/5 in every respect, this was awesome! Seeing what people would say was just so interesting!

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37am

Really bums me out that the loss text is skipped so easily. I really wanted to read each "ending". Cool concept though.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47am

Awesome! Wish I could read the ending text more easily though :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47am

I like it! Though you need to fix the colliders, because sometimes the items collides when they should not. Btw, you should definitely try migrating this game to a mobile platform!

dustyroom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48am

Hey, that arrow must be fake. I'm still alone! Great and catchy game. But every time the position of heroes is the same. A bit of randomization?

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50am

Very funny! Made me replay it a dozen times just to see what would be every "target's" ending.
Could definitely use some music.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25am

loved the text for each endings~! could use a little sound though

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37am

Thanks for the feedback, guys! We're looking into adding some downtime, so that you wouldn't accidentally skip the ending. Can't promise anything right now but hopefully we'll get it up today.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Thanks for rating Get It Out!!! I enjoyed this a lot. Obviously the ending text bug isn't the best situation, but I liked the endings I got and I love the intro! I must have played it 10 times at least and FINALLY got past the ducks, so I think I did pretty well. Thanks for sharing and congrats on submitting!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Hmm.. interesting story, good graphics, but no audio and a bit short in terms of gameplay. The ending screen comes so fast that because I was holding the arrow and suddenly hit something it wen't pass before I could read it. Anyway, keep working on it :) ? cheers.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Playtrought toughts:
*Poor guy
*omg, that cupid looks creepy, RUUUN!
*THAT TITLE FONT XDDD
*dammit, i made the man an zoophile :C

funny XDDD 5/5

Valandre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Funny concept, love to try whith many characters! good entry.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Nice pixel art and really innovative. Also, great humor sense. Too bad it haven't sounds.

4/5

Taldius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Nice game, I love the story and the gameplay feels smooth. However, it is a little too hard in my opinion.
Good job.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Not so much fun when you trigger an 'ending,' and then you immediately skip it because you're still sort of pressing arrows. Also, starting over from the beginning every time was a bit of a chore when you tried going further, especially as the biking dude for example can often only be avoided at one specific point and then there's a huge cluster of characters right afterwards which can be hard to dodge if you aren't in the right place.

Besides that though, really nice art, great graphics, and amazing writing! Too bad there's no sound though :( A nice catchy background tune might make the repeated treks through the level a little more bearable.

5/5 humor and graphics for sure

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]