Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vine Climber

by careless - Jam Entry

Race the clock to the top of the vine and take out the nasty ghost!

Collect chests on your way to the top releasing energy which help the vine grow but watch our for those pesky mushrooms.

When you reach the highest heights can you defeat the ghost? If you defeat the boss were you quick enough to make it onto the score board?

WASD or arrow controls to move left, right and climb the vine.
Use space bar to jump

Use the mouse to click the buttons in game and be sure to type in a player name, if you use your Twitter handle I will tweet the top players on Twitter.

Enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#371Fun(Jam)3.33
#435Theme(Jam)3.76
#462Humor(Jam)2.73
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#717Graphics(Jam)3.05
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52am

Awesome music and graphics. A great concept too. You should let people rate on the Innovation Category because it is really original. Great job!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31pm

I absolutely love the music, and the gameplay is quite nice, well done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

Nice entry!

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

Great work, love the graphics and the music. It's all good except the control is a bit weird.

Gtron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:47am

Cool concept with a pretty well balanced difficulty curve. I would have liked if the audio was a little bit quieter, but that's really just nitpicking.

Enchae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:47am

I really like the music, the colors compliment each other nicely, and it's a very interesting idea!

The graphics were... okay, That one tile looked nice ;)
But my main problem is how the framerate dropped a lot which is strange considering how simple it seems.

But that's forgivable! Good entry nonetheless.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53am

Awesome Graphics and Audio. I liked the combination of the two to make a nice playful mood.

I couldn't figure out how to get past the 4th level of the vine. I looked for things to break, or things to jump on, but I couldn't find anything. Did I miss something?

Good job overall!

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59am

Good concept.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:31am

You should make windows deployments executables for people who don't have the JRE and don't want it. :(

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34am

Good game. Controlled nicely. I didn't make it to the top but I enjoyed it even when I lost. A few more animations would have been nice, but overall good work

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:01am

This game was pretty fun, though I wish the controls were either a bit more tight, or the camera was further back, so I wasn't jumping blindly as much. Graphics are simple but nice, I like the animation on the character. Audio is nice, but I wish the looping wasn't so obvious. Well done!

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:13am

really cool! I like how the single world space is broken up into mini challenges based on the vine height. performance was a bit rough on my Mac, in particular the framerate seemed to stutter and drop when jumping and causing the screen to scroll. mad it a bit difficult to pull off some of the jumps.

careless says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:54am

Thanks for all the feedback thus far, I rushed to make a simple entity framework but had no idea of the bad decisions I was making at the time, basically I am getting the enemies too all do too many tests per second its silly.

Main lesson learned is to write a map editor/ entity framework prior to the compo.

I lost too many hours on day two to really sort out the controls and admit they are not clean enough!

I will look into making an .exe for Windows and upload that, thanks for the tip SSJMetroid.

emmes says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:28pm

I really like the music, and the overall apparence.
I don't like collision detection and general movement too much, though, it feels unpolished.
Interesting idea to use twitter for accounts...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]