Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

High-rise Vine

by Gipzo - Jam Entry

You are an outworld seed, carried to earth by a meteor. With luck you landed near the highest building, made by men. Earth atmosphere is harmful to you, so you can't stay alive here for long. Grow your way out of the Earth and escape!

P.S. Web version best played fullscreen or directly on itch.io.

Features:

2D physics
Button-mashing gameplay
Local co-op up to 4 players
Online Highscores

How to play

Use buttons to grow left and right
Camera constantly moves upwards. If you stay beneath, the vine dies.
You can grow under pipes and air ducts
Growth under pipes is faster
Growth under air ducts and on top of broken windows is slower
Conditioners and cradles can be dropped
You score points for distance you have grown and objects dropped

Controls:

Player 1 - Left Arrow / Right Arrow
Player 2 - Q/W
Player 3 - T/Y
Player 4 - O/P

Tools

Unity 5, Photoshop, Illustrator

Team

Artem Shambalev aka Gipzo -Programming, Game design
Nikita Bobchenko - Game and level design
Artyom Podolnitskiy - Art
Ruslan Misnikevich - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#76Fun(Jam)3.85
#95Overall(Jam)3.87
#150Theme(Jam)4.10
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#321Audio(Jam)3.36
#403Humor(Jam)2.83
#462Graphics(Jam)3.56

Comments

Jeroen Kappé says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:45pm

I like it!

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

A cool game but your highscores are not working tho

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Cool Game. Greetings from Minsk LDJam!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Melusine, fixed highscores in WebGL version - now it is working fine ;)
Ludum34, hello )

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20am

Good game!

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25am

The controls feel intuitive, and the animation of the vine is superb - but the first thing I did was to get stuck on the rules screen. The highscores are a nice addition, adds to the replay value. Might fire this up later and play with someone. Good job :)

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27am

I enjoyed this! I personally liked weaving in and around objects more than I really had to, even if it cost me more than a few times.

Breaking things was also fun, and the time I lost because I broke an AC unit and it carried me off the screen to my doom as it fell on me, I lol'd.

Good entry, fun to play and excellent use of both themes.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

Avant-Marde, popups on main menu could be closed with Esc button. I guess this could be broken in WebGL version. I'll add buttons for closing later...

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

A fun idea with a really interesting and unique control scheme! It took a while to get used to the control scheme, but once I did it was surprisingly intuitive and responsive. Definitely enjoyable, and although I didn't get the chance to check out the local-coop I bet it'd be a lot of fun (although it would probably break my keyboard ;) )

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I think I found a bug. If you just die immediately by going straigt down you get like 2 * 10^20 score. wich is VERY much. Otherwise, a really cool game with a cool gamemechanic :)

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Fun!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Fun. Inventive controls. Could use a tutorial to really explain the proper weaving motion for fast forward movement. Rewarding replay value. Nice job!

Usanio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Good work. Like it.

smoreley says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Neat, I liked it. Only thing is my malware-blocker keeps popping up, I think it has some thing to do with the score board (when ever I click it am notified).

Gipzo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:07pm

smoreley, yeah, it's because I'm using my own server to proxy scoreboard request to dreamlo. Unity in WebGL mode doesn't allow requests directly to dreamlo...

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Клевая!

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44pm

I dig the music and how it fits with the game! Enjoyed climbing the face of the building too. Took me a while to realize one could destroy some of the feature though. They could maybe have had a hint or something on them. I clicked up the "How to play" on the webgl version but then couldn't find a way to get back to the menu. Small thing, but easy fix. More importantly, I really didn't understand exactly how my actions made the vine grow slower or faster. I got that if I did turn it turned. Of course. But as for speeding up the vertical climb I didn't really get it. So that probably needs some better feedback too in the game. That said, I'm not really complaining. It was a really good game!

cudabear says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:57pm

This game was very fun! We loved the co-op (more like competitive, actually) gameplay. Graphics are nicely done, consistent, and clean. This is a great use of both themes to make a very fun game. It would be nice if there was a better sense of progression as you play, I can tell it gets slightly harder but it's not super noticeable. Well done on your jam entry!

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

good game! i could not send my score (on web version), but that was fun anyway

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Awesome!
Currently second place \o/ (586 or so)

Fluid, smooth controls, good speed progression, cool graphics, sounds are alright (definitely better than no sounds however). The music is good, but a little too dramatic and actiony for this game, maybe.

Overall really great job, 4/5, keep working on it!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:33am

Fun!!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:46am

Pro:
+ Great control
+ Cool assets
+ Simple but cool concept
Con:
-I fell like there could be more stuffs to break or to dodge, I guess that's asking too much
Obs:
o Sometimes the objects won't fall, and sometimes they did, not sure why

Great job!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Thank you @nihilaleph.
We couldn't manage to make more stuff , because it was a first experience in gamedev for our artist and we didn't manage to work for full 72 hours. But still, I think he did a pretty god job :)

Zener says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:55am

I always like these kind of games. Every part of it looks very polished and professional. And I love the music

Linus123xbb says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Awesome game, the leaderboard adds to the game and the music was really good too. It would be cool if you put out some labels from the scoreboard indicating how far they got. Fantastic job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]