Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tokyo Wars

by Valandre - Jam Entry

Tokyo Wars - Valandre - Jam Entry

Move: mouse
Attack: left click
Accelerate: right click

Mute music: M
Fullscreen: F11

----------------------
TokyoWars is our entry for the Ludum Dare #34 -2 buttons control
I'ts an arena-shooter game, in a japanese stylised world.


Rules:
- Destroy all black car before they kill you.


Hope you'll enjoy.

----------------------

Development (Haxe): Bernard "Valandre" Stouls
Art, Modeling 3D: Etienne "E-MAK" Makowski
Music & sound: Camille "Shakkam" Schoell

Very best thanks to our bosses, familly & friend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#16Graphics(Jam)4.68
#59Audio(Jam)4.04
#156Fun(Jam)3.66
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#181Mood(Jam)3.67
#536Humor(Jam)2.62
#689Innovation(Jam)2.88
#840Theme(Jam)3.23

Comments

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Music and graphics went together very well, excellent sound choice. Those soft 3d models reminded me of Custom Robo for some reason. Good use of two button theme as well, and the mood was definitely set between the contrasting night city with the lighting.

My only critiques would be tweaking the movement, it felt a smidgeon stiff; the AI needs work, I didn't realize it was much of a battle, but I understand AI isn't the easiest thing to nail down in 48 hrs; and the power up placement was strange (but probably just nitpicking, overall that was fun.

Good job, enjoyable little bite of a game.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Looks incredible. Plays relly well too. The only thing i found annoying is getting stuck on edges. Player should be able to drive on the grass. Also pretty hard to comeback from running our of fuel, since pickups disappear very quickly.

zzapp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Loved the lowpoly art style and the game itself was really fun. Overall I really enjoyed it.
As far as negatives the controls can be a little frustrating especially cornering. I also wish there was some sort of radar or markers towards enemies as I struggled to find the last guy alive a few times and had to do laps of the city hoping to bump into him.

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Excellent game!

Things I really liked:

* Very consistent art style, car animations were really good!

* Explosions and weapons fire felt very polished

* Variety of weapons made combat a lot of fun (proxy mines are so satisfying!

* Maintaining fuel and ammo was nicely balanced and had just the right amount of urgency.


Improvements I could think of:

* The corners do indeed get in the way, and part of that is due to the slow response rate in turning. It would be cool to make the player car hop the corners.

* Some highly visible (at a glance) landmark squares would be a nice.

* A pause menu for quit, restart, audio options would be a good addition.

* Hide the mouse cursor and create a visible control ring around the player with a forward indicator that shows input so the player can get used to the delay in the turn. In the heat of battle my mouse cursor would travel away from the car and it made response even more low. Sticking the control feedback to the focus point would help quite a bit.

* Explain the turn rate with tires squealing or some visual aid.

* Lessen the Extra Life drop rate, and make it something that all cars go for, kind of like a battle royal or king of the hill where the reward is an extra life.

* Sometimes the last car takes a bit to find, maybe some kind of shift in the gameplay like sudden death or a compass indicator would keep the flow going.


Most of these improvements would soak too much time in the jam, but as with any gamer, I'd like to see more of a good thing! Really enjoyed this game! Well done!

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Actually the game was lagging a lot, but the idea is uper duper cool! Did you plan launch it?

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:50am

Masterful. Graphics are nice, driving could be improved by enlargin streets and the game coud totally make a multiplayer III. Well done !

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11pm

The Graphics and the music fit perfectly together. The Gameplay is really cool. Sadly it was quite laggy on my computer. But I enjoyed it nonetheless. Great entry :)

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Really liked the game: great graphics, great music and once you get used to the control, it's easy to move and shoot.

My problem is that I don't see the growing theme and that the two buttons is relative. Moving the mouse around is not against the two buttons idea?

Anyway, love it. You could make a whole game with this idea.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Impressive work in the time given. I found the fuel mechanic very taxing to refill though.

ajopart says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Great art and sound !

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Amazingly polished game, greta job! The only thing i can relay suggest are some quality of life improvements, like a mini map or chase arrows indicating the last few enemies, as terry90 suggested. Graphically i cant fault a single thing, damn beautiful and stylish! Sound and Music complete the look perfectly to.

wine says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I wish that there was more space to drive on the streets and more flexible reaction to collisions

But overall it's a great concept with nice graphics. Good work!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Plays well. Too bad ai is dumb as brick. Would work better as multilayer (even split screen.) Don't think it does either of the themes well. (game play doesn't benefit from using two buttons.)

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Beautiful work

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:51am

Good job

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really cool entry. The game start to be a bit boring when it left only one car to kill. But the awesome musics help to lot to stay in the game :) Congrats!

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Excellent game with beautiful graphics.

Strike says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Excellent travail les gars ;)
5 stars all the way !

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:20pm

The style was nice, I liked the how the city and the cars looked. I think the controls could do with a bit of tweaking but overall an impressive entry

WERT Studio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:46pm

That was awsome, again !!!

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Cool graphics!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:36pm

My only complaint is that end of the game gets long trying to find the lone enemy that has survived. Otherwise I can't believe how polished this game feels in such a short amount of time. If this is the stuff that Heaps can do, I may need to start looking at it more!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:51am

Always loved the micromachines. Looks good and has that toyish vibe. Polish that rough edges and corners and it could be fun for longer.

pixelpotions says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Awesome job! Loved the graphics and the sound. My only problem was the movespeed. It was too slow.

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 2:06am

Cool graphics, though it sometimes lags quite a bit in Firefox. I was missing a kind of radar, it took ages until I found that last opponent. Also, think of capturing the mouse, I constantly lost focus.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]