Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Totally Not Buggy Elevator

by veverichka - Compo Entry

Help Kukec escape from the cave and reconnect with his family.

Controls:
Left: A / Left arrow
Right: D / Right arrow
Jump: Space
Shrink: H
Grow: G

Web build doesn't seem to be working on Chrome and there are some other known bugs, but overall I'm happy with my first LD entry. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Graphics4.08
#136Mood3.57
#292Overall3.48
#429Humor2.47
#446Theme3.78
#463Fun3.17
#557Innovation3.04
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27am

The visuals are really bold. I like it.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice mechanic.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11pm

interesting puzzle game, good use of limbo type visuals

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Love the look and general smoothness to it, but it does have a lot of physics bugs. Got stuck on corners a lot and frequently found myself not being able to jump. Really wish there was sound. I'm not really getting what to do with the two buttons.

RadStar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

kinda slow with some bugs when jumping against a wall. I like the mood with the bicolor universe, but the game isn't catchy enough to make me stay on it

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Love the look and general smoothness to it, but it does have a lot of physics bugs. Got stuck on corners a lot and frequently found myself not being able to jump. Really wish there was sound. I'm not really getting what to do with the two buttons.

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I tried to grow and shrink but it didn't work :(

But it looked awesome! Good job!

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Looks good, but I got stuck early on. I like the tutorial messages at the beginning, but after that there wasn't enough direction.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

Got stuck at the air vent and the two buttons, couldn't figure out what to do, but I really enjoyed the visuals and the premise

rkhadder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I got this error while trying to play the web version - Uncaught RangeError: Invalid typed array length

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I couldnt run this - I think Unity's web player is letting you down; I get this error,
"Invalid typed array length."
Either you screwed up a vertext buffer or the webgl player screwed up compiling.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I couldnt run this - I think Unity's web player is letting you down; I get this error,
"Invalid typed array length."
Either you screwed up the length of a vertex buffer or the webgl player screwed up compiling.

Tijn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:35pm

The look of this game is really nice. It's a bit hard to play because of the physics bugs, but if you could solve this in an update, this could be a pretty awesome game!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Nice ! Simple and visualy good. :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:43pm

I'm totally in love with this little game! You should keep going with it, you have a great prototype here to build upon! Congratulations

hyperscope says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:03am

Initial tutorials did a good job of guiding the player through the beginning stages of the game. On top of that the narration was engaging and witty enough that I didn't feel the desire to skip past it. I would suggest to make the text skip able for players that may have already played. Had numerous issues with clipping with level geometry. Also noticed some blurriness in the level. All in good work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Solid entry. Loved the visual style. Rode the elevator up and wasn't sure what to do after looping back to the start? Maybe that was all? Wasn't sure what the numbers on the two buttons meant, but I hopped on them a bunch and eventually an elevator showed up. Nice job, solid effort, easy to fix stuff from here if you want to extend it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]