Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hillary vs Donald - America's Greates Battle

by holgk - Jam Entry

Hillary vs Donald - America's Greatest Battle

It's election time in the US.

Play as Hillary or Donald and use ads and speeches to grow your support base.

Everyone is watching you and listen to you carefully. All you action have an effect on your popularity.

So Keep on track otherwise your opponent will get more votes than you. And do you realy want him as your president?

Have fun!

A tutorial is inside the game.

Tools:
- Unity
- Photoshop
- Illustrator
- Audacity

Update 1:
I fixed some typos after KZdev comment.

I included a WebGL build. Fullscreen is recommended in this version.

I included OS/X and Linux builds but right now havn't tested them. If there is a problem please tell me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#410Humor(Jam)2.82
#482Innovation(Jam)3.19
#660Audio(Jam)2.48
#856Mood(Jam)2.67
#870Overall(Jam)2.90
#873Graphics(Jam)2.65
#975Fun(Jam)2.49
#1021Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Too many mechanics that weren't explained (or there wasn't relevant information displayed to act on it). Also the tutorial didn't cover all aspects of the game, yet it still managed to seem overwhelming

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Everything is very detailed. Nice work on the mechanics

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:50am

Way too fun, but kinda over-complicated at places

laxeot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54am

Really complicated, but in a good way. Doesn't feel like it was made in a rush at all!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

There is a lot to take in at once here, but I can see this being a very fun management game with more time.

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58am

I really tried/wanted to understand the game but it was just way too much information at first. Games like this need a bit of on-boarding which can be really challenging for a game jam.

omaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39am

This is great. A nice simulation.

I'm not sure why the campaign actions are only available if i click on my candidate (why not just leave them on screen all the time?), but once I figured that out everything made sense and worked well for me.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57am

First thing I noticed is when I pressed options the box is obscured by the title. I won't rate you less for that but that probably qualifies as a "typo" fix, just FYI. Also, choosing a resolution lower than the default doesn't scale the game down, it just cuts off part of the game.

Anyway, to the game: It's surprisingly deep, and not nearly as complicated to play as I thought it might be. I played through a full 15 week game as Trump (I don't support him IRL haha) and somehow lost Florida, and therefore the rest of the election, even though I spent most of my time there. Of course, Clinton was spending a lot of time there too. There are typos throughout the game, and some things could be more clear(for example, abortion is listed as pro-life vs pro-choice, so when I use the favor/oppose slider I'm not sure which side I'm favoring or opposing). Also, seeing as how Trump is a billionaire and Clinton has massive SuperPACs, the spending limits seemed too low. Giving both sides more money and allowing ads to be placed in a any state at any time would make sense. Also, web ads cost more than TV ads, and only show up in one state? That seems unrealistic though I'm sure it makes sense in terms of game balance. With all that said, as an avid watcher of politics I found the game interesting and if you develop it further I would like to see how it goes!

holgk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I added a WebGL build and fixed some typos.

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35pm

What? I lost even though I had like all of the map? Screw the American election system!
Amaizing game... Took a bit of time to get the hang of, but really fun

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Wow - a pretty impressively complicated game to make in a Jam. Not sure I got all the mechanics but still, pretty impressive.

DoppleDanger says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

the game was bigger than my screen (web version)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Could not really play, as the game was cut off at the borders of the screen :(

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59pm

This is very detailed and content-rich for a Ludum Dare entry :o great job!
My only minor complaint would be that the music levels are quite low, I had to actually turn my physical speakers up a lot in order to even hear the music, the ingame controls and those of my OS weren't enough :P.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Nice take on the theme and it's "hillarious" lol
I think the tutorial part should be longer.

leonoel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Gogo Hilary ! :D Omg... i fail the election... America, you loose !
Well, where the hell is the Trump's Wig by the way ?
About the game, this is the most frightening tutoriel i've ever seen :D and the game is kinda fun, but... tooooo much complicated :D

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice entry. I was a bit confuse while playing this game. At some point, I could not get funds anymore even if I had enough action points. I also had the feeling that my actions did not influence much the final result. Anyway, I saw that you implemented many mechanism, so congrats for that. Keep it up !

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Wow. What a nice idea... Good concept. Tested it for a short time... but this is not a game for only 5 minutes... it needs more time to understand all mechancis... caus it is very deep ... all this infos... wo +1 for content...

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:46am

Too complicated, nobody cares of a political game on a contry that is not yours (not fun). Really.. I clicked a few times and gave up on frustration.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Pretty cool. i like the concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]