Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Floppy Frog

by walaber - Compo Entry

Floppy Frog! A silly physics "platformer" game, I just went with the "Two Button Controls" theme for this one.

Use the [F] and [L] keys to flop the frog. Release keys to unflop. Try to complete all 6 levels, level 6 is super hard :)

Created with Unity 5.3, using only basic primitives (only model I had to make was a "wedge" shape)

I'll do my best to play the submissions of everyone who takes the time to play this. I can only play web and OS-X builds since I don't have a windows machine.

Enjoy!
-Walaber

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#26Fun4.02
#34Humor3.90
#49Innovation4.00
#102Overall3.81
#109Theme4.17
#297Graphics3.46
#307Mood3.23

Comments

Kapura says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:19am

Incredibly frustrating, but the best kind of frustrating. QWOP-tier satisfying frustration.

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33am

Finally passed that first part on level 6 and then I saw the monkey bars and I was just like oh noh and died. :)

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:58am

yeah, the monkey bars are pretty much troll central!
the speed of flopping ramps as you hold the buttons, so if you want a soft touch, try tapping the button repeatedly instead of holding down.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55am

So cute! I am incredibly good at going backwards, not so much forwards. Well done!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33pm

It`s so fun to play! (but so hard). Very creative gameplay

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Takes a bit to get used to but really fun!

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Such a basic mechanic and so much fun to play! It made me go crazy, but liked it so much!
I would love to see other goals, such as doint special flips or something. :-)

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Game of the year every year.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

QWOP with weird frog man. Enjoyable, but impossibly difficult.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

cute game, creative use of physics and the theme, sometimes it gets frustrating

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

The best kind of annoying. When I finally figured out how to slowly crawl across the flat platform on the first level, and then saw the ramp on the second I just stopped then.

Soron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56am

HAHAHA awesome :D! Incredibly hard, but in a hilarious way. Then again, I like I Am Bread, so maybe I'm just weird.

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28am

After thinking a bit more about it, maybe it would help to include short videos for the basic movement patterns (crawling right, jumping, etc) to reduce the frustration a bit. I understand that it is part of the fun to find that out, though. Maybe a video could appear after some time not making it over a specific obstacle

tanis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50am

Man, this is so hard that it became an addiction :D
Super cool idea!

Waynetron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59am

This could be the next QWOP!

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41am

Incredibly hard i-need-to-stop-okay-just-one-more type of game. Played it for ten minutes and I still don't know what the heck is going on. Works just good enough to not be too frustrating :) Good job!

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Hilariously frustrating, good job!

OddballDave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17pm

My fingers hurt. In a good way.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

This game is so hard, but so fun :D
You got a really good idea, nice job !

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

this game is so good. there is so much character just in the mouth opening and closing

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:39am

I BEAT IT! That was the most amazing / frustrating game in the world!

Just when you think you have a working technique it all goes wrong!

I recorded my game play and will edit/upload it to youtube shortly!

Amazing idea and by far my favourite game in a while.

40 minutes to complete all the levels.

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50am

I made a video of my 40 minutes of play https://youtu.be/Hg4_dN6NY3w

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

so hard, I only did level one

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:36am

This is extremely fun and creative. However I feel like it deserves some tweaking on game design. I played for about 15 minutes but didn't feel like I was mastering the mechanics at all, and didn't have much luck progressing (stopped at level 2). But all the while I was having a blast "controlling" the little guy. You have something really really promising here :D

aplomb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:41am

All hail Floppy Frog!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:07am

Really creative game - one of the most original I've seen in LD. Super frustrating but super fun! Well done! :D

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11am

Frustratingly fun! Excellent job!

bushmango says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:18am

You know that you are evil, right? :) Love it.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44am

Everything I do makes me go backwards.
I can't past level two.
The frog looks like an alligator.
10/10

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17am

Holy cow, finally beat it. Super addicting game! Loved finally mastering the gigantic leaps forward. Really cool mechanics

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Holy shit this took up more time than I thought. I also somehow managed to finish the last level by jumping OVER the tools instead of using them. So much potential!

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Frustrating to me, but an awesome little game! Fun!

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:02am

Extremely fun! It reminded me so much of QWOP in a way. Great overall game

George says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Awesome idea - so frustrating but so fun! QWOP eat your heart out!

tanjent says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:46pm

This is evil.

Kahztein says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:52am

Hilarious rage inducing fun, although I would argue that it gets a bit repetitive if you're just stuck on the first level xD
Also congratulations, Jacksepticeye (with almost 8 million subscribers) did a video dedicated to this

felixreeve says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:59am

Brilliant work, truly difficult and funny! Would love for there to be at least some hints about techniques for controlling the frog!

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:12pm

So frustrating yet quite fun. This is a really neat idea.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:34pm

I love and hate this kind of game at the same time, I wasn't able to move forward, only backwards :D

The gameplay is original and interesting, I really like it. Good job!

Kimau says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Awesome fun even if it took me 30 minutes to finish the level

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:08pm

lol

wine says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Damn! It's really challenging :D
Great work!

Headmade says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Sooo hard, yet sooo fun. Very Qwopesque but still distinct enough to stand on its own. Well done.

Molpe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:03am

It's very frustrating, but it was really fun! I liked it more than the QWOP, it's so cute and I actually had a lot of fun playing it x) Even though I rage quit after 23 minutes (in the last level if I can count correctly) and I've made a video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-jOOhrfG5U

sputnik says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really hard but fun concept!

davekalina says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Simultaneously elegant and ridiculous!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:18pm

I think it's a great metaphor for life. Sometimes we just desperately try to cling to a rolling piece of wood, but then we flop all across the room in the opposite direction in a desperate attempt to simply move forward. It really shows the struggle of staying alive on a daily basis, I know great social commentary when I see it.

But enough of the nonsense. Really cool game, kept me occupied for a while.
But was it worth playing one hour just to try to beat level 6 and ultimately fail? I don't know. But it for sure was a lot of F(r)U(stratio)N.

barkergames says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very interesting idea, but I really didn't know how to control it. The only reason that I beat the levels I did was because I randomly pressed buttons and got lucky.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:15am

This idea is clever, but it's very frustrating to play. :( I couldn't even beat the second level because of the direction the springs are angled in. The "L" key in particular is extremely likely to make the frog bounce left.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]