Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

#AsterMaze

by dweebster - Jam Entry

Hey there!

I've made a simple Maze flying game. Give it a try!

Find the green portal and avoid all red walls.

If you want to discuss this game or if you have problems with it please contact me on Twitter: @cg_fred

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#190Fun(Jam)3.59
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#572Mood(Jam)3.15
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#620Audio(Jam)2.70
#674Innovation(Jam)2.91
#813Graphics(Jam)2.83
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

CogComp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Loving it. Nice level design! Easy to pickup controls and nice scaleability. You should make a mobile game of it. Nice work!

dweebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Thanks :) Will do for sure!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Pretty nice game. the engage sound got annoying after a while. i easily got 3 stars in every level, a bit of challenge can't hurt

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Simple and funny game,i liked a lot!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

It's fun! Good sense of growing the difficulty from level to level: easy for novices at start and can make a challenge for asteroids fans while progress.

dweebster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Thanks for the nice feedback, comments and suggestions Blobo, Indie L, fxtagn. Its very useful so I can make the game even better :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Neat! Good design, responsive controls/movement!
Great job! You should definitely make this into a mobile game!

dweebster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Hey Hot Box Games,

Thanks a lot. I've already started on the mobile game with loads of more levels :)

dweebster says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:42pm

I've just made a new version and shipped it on Android https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.casualgames.nu.AsterMaze&hl=en and Windows Phone https://www.microsoft.com/store/apps/9nblggh58rb7

Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Nice entry. It meets with theme and plays fun. "Easy to learn, hard to master" in the nutshell.

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Wow! I did not expect sth like that, man it is awesome! :)

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Cool game. Like the challenge ramp up on later levels. Clear controls and use of the theme. Would be interesting to do some procedural mazes (assuming you haven't already... I only got to the Christmas Tree level).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]