Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Droid Shootout --- A Sci-Fi Mouse-Click-Only Survival Game

by Crawler Studios - Compo Entry

PLOT:
The year is unknown, but it is sometime in a grim future. You're a soldier in charge of a computer room holding secret files to your faction. One night, an explosion caused by the rival faction destroys the room, and kills your team. You've survived the explosion, but you now must fight off waves of droids sent by the enemy to prevent them from seizing any equipment that survived. You reported the explosion to HQ, and backup's on its way. Your objective: survive until backup arrives.

HOW TO PLAY:
- Left Click to shoot, Right Click to move in the direction of your mouse.
- Survive until the timer runs out.
- Shoot robots, don't let robots shoot you.

Technical Stuff:
- Made for the 48 hour compo.
- All art, sounds, and scripts created and/or modified by me.
- Made with Unity, JavaScript, Blender, Photoshop, and Audacity.

This is my 6th Ludum Dare compo, hope you enjoyed :)
Rate, give me some feedback, and thanks for playing!
Follow me on Twitter: www.twitter.com/CrAwLeR__

Downloadable versions coming soon.

*Source and other downloads on web game page*

AND THE QUESTION:
Should I make a post-jam version or expand on the game after the jam? Please let me know if I should make this a full game in the future and what improvements I can make to it. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#334Graphics3.37
#454Audio2.68
#536Overall3.17
#544Mood2.88
#575Fun3.03
#715Theme3.40
#723Innovation2.71

Comments

ploy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Very impressive :) But..emm....white dicks as enemies???? :D

PC Ferreira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46pm

^
^
Best comment ever! hahahah

Beside this, pretty amazing graphics! Good game too!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:59am

Impressive amount of art for 48 hours! pretty fun too.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:16am

This was pretty cool. I enjoyed the fact that it was a rails shooter, haha. Movement can be a bit wonder at times and seeing my cursor would throw me off, but not bad!

I almost made it too. Backup was coming in 10 seconds and I only had 2% HP left!

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20am

Pretty cool game! Well done!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:49am

Great game! Impressive use of Unity particles, too.

leonoel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:53pm

The weapon could have followed the direction of you mouse, and there is a lack of feedback overall. But pretty cool game :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Looked pretty, and was fun.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:47am

I've liked some models and core mechanics but audio isn't good.

teamvr says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:35am

Cool all around.

icereci says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Cool game. Liked the models and game play.

HUMANICS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Really fun to play ;) Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]