Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Growth

by jonask - Compo Entry

Get the snake to the exit.

Installation:
Unzip and run Snake_Growth.exe.

Controls:
Left Arrow, Right Arrow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#536Fun3.08
#656Theme3.52
#660Humor1.88
#734Mood2.56
#766Graphics2.50
#805Overall2.81
#809Innovation2.52

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Pretty nice game but needs some more work

Evannex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Hmm it doesn't seem to work for me. "MSVCP120D.dll is missing from your computer. "

Big Cow says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:25pm

UGG! Sorry I tried to play but System Error says Missing MSVP12D.dll!

Ampera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:41pm

It's a fun, but stock snake game. For those who can't run it, it's a dependency that isn't installed (Like a c++ deal) Look around for what MSVCP120 is used for. My guess is VB6 or something among those lines.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:12pm

It fun to play, but its snake, so maybe It's snake, so, yeaah. But its fun to

jonask says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Recompiled the game with msys2 so hopefully the dlls will work better now.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:52am

Congratulations! Simple, but fun. Good level progression, and consistent style.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:18am

Cool puzzle take on the traditional snake game. Would have liked higher resolution and some sounds but otherwise it's pretty solid!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:37am

Tiny little window! Hard to play snake with only two buttons instead of four, but addictive!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:22am

Nice take on snake with some a good twist. I liked the additional mechanics. I would have loved to see additional levels to test out these mechanics, but I can absolutely understand that time constraints make it difficult. I will also note, timing tight turns is very hard. In the middle of the spiral, I needed to turn well before I can see movement, so there was a large number of mistakes until I got the timing down. Other than that, cool game.

daveh says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:29am

Fun game. Would have been easier to play at a a higher resolution.

Jordan Smith says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Cool iteration on Snake. Couldn't get past the fourth level because i'm a pleb but I was having fun haha.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Good rethinking of the usual snake game presents an interesting challenge. Good job.

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:01pm

My only problem was that the game speed seemed to change mid round when you hit one of the '-' blocks, which seriously messed with the rythm of the controls.
Apart from that it was a quite nice game, though the 'Congratulations' at the end felt a bit stale.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:22pm

It took a while to get used to the controls, but once I did, I enjoyed playing it! Thanks!

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:23am

Pretty cool entry, i had a good time playing :)

Pepejson says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:15pm

nice game, it needs some work, but main concept is very intresting :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]