Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

My Space Empire and Me

by Calciumtrice - Compo Entry

A short Twine game about building a space empire.

As an rising empress, you grow an empire across the stars through high powered decision making - always one of two choices. That's how an empress rolls.


Put together over just the Saturday, I decided to keep things low stress this time and didn't make any illustrations to accompany the text. Maybe for a post-compo version if I fancy it.

Absolutely nothing fancy code-wise, just Twine with basic links. To get the 'source', just download the html file and import it into Twine 2 for editing.

There are 8 endings, be the best (or I guess MOST VARIED) empress and find them all. Yeah, yeah, yeah!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#7Humor4.19
#224Fun3.52
#267Mood3.30
#412Overall3.32
#725Theme3.38
#765Innovation2.63

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Good attempt at two button within the scope of Twine.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32pm

"I am boss as heck"

A fun little twine game :)

teamvr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10am

"I am a robot god!"

Thanks for the great little journey through space and time. Felt good and brought me back to the days of choose your own adventures. I

pixzleone says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Haha really good writing, and nice take on the theme.
-
I'm the ruler of boulders 10/10

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Really funny.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Pretty fun and amusing Twine entry and I loved the rather humorous narration.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:50pm

A fun interactive story! Great stuff!

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

"Large and in charge." Absolutely hilarious, mostly thanks to your stunningly competent skills as a writer. Go for the post-compo version! I'm sure it will be boss as heck!

tyr_arcana says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I liked this a lot. I doubt it will win any awards for writing, but it has a charming sense of humour and a simplicity and directness that I found really enjoyable.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Oh man, I'm laughing now. This is one of the funniest entries I've played this LD, and I'd be surprised if I find many that are funnier. Once or twice it seemed to be trying a bit too hard to be funny, but the remaining 99% of the time it worked. You have a very self-assured and enjoyable narrative voice here.

Gameplay-wise, it's a pretty standard Choose Your Own Adventure Story (though I like the system of always having two options, going with the theme). All the branches I played were pretty short, but they had enough detail and didn't feel rushed. I just love the storylines, plain and simple: they put me in the centre of a tongue-in-cheek pulp SF story full of dangers and wonders.

I found three endings, and will definitely come back for more after the compo. My favourite was the Dimension of Unknowable Terror ending.

To sum up: gameplay is nothing special, but the writing and humour are top-notch, and the storylines are a lot of fun. You should probably make an entry for it on the Interactive Fiction Database; it deserves saving for posterity.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:29pm

This was a very nice experience!

Really impacting choices and good narration, enjoyed it a lot! Well done =)

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:08pm

I was looking for a twine game, and when I saw "Calciumtrice", I knew I was in for a treat! Great writing, had be laughing out loud. I just wish it was a bit less linear, but I liked your LD28 entry and I wasn't disappointed by this one either.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:48am

This is the funniest thing here on LD I've seen so far. I wish there were More endings and some funky illustrations, but also I understand the Point of keeping things low stress. And with the Story and this writingstyle it works perfektly anyways. :D

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:38am

This game was hilarious. Very simple but very funny, I enjoyed it. Good job! :)

Haha: "I am the Trash Empress and my life is metal as hell and I love it." :D

kabel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:01pm

A tad to short, but at least it was funny.

miwuc says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 6:24am

Top 10 humor, congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]