Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Linear Algebra Shooter

by ALobker - Jam Entry

This weekend coincided with another game jam where theme was linear algebra.

You have 3 modes on your gun to scale, rotate and translate. Shoot enemies with the correct weapon according to their matrix.

Select weapons with 1, 2, 3
Move with WASD
Alt-F4 to quit


Levi van Aanholt
Thijs van der Gaag
Antony Löbker
Yao Ming Yeh

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#383Innovation(Jam)3.32
#806Humor(Jam)2.00
#959Graphics(Jam)2.33
#1001Mood(Jam)1.94
#1030Fun(Jam)2.32
#1034Overall(Jam)2.60
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Game doesnt load up. Using Firefox

ALobker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Fixed now.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

Very cool! Took a while to figure out, but was then very fun. Don't forget to rate other games or you won't get a final score!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I was thinking I had to shoot the numbers in the matrices to have the models go berserk but that didn't seem to work? Not sure what I was doing. I would disable voting for audio for your entry as there is none.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:52pm

I couldn't quite figure out how the gameplay worked. I seemed to sometimes kill on enemy but I would almost always die before that happens. Overall the idea sounds nice but the actual gameplay is very confusing.

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:36pm

@zenmumbler: I did include audio, but something might've gone wrong when building.

@Tselmek: You have to match your gun with the matrix next to the enemy.

Acuity says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Took a while for me to figure out which gun to use... Been too long since I've done linear algebra.

Echo Team says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:42am

Best game ever! :P

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Nice! Like the idea and cool death animations. Sometimes do not have a lot of time to see the matrices long enough.. but just shooting and trying worked well for me :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]