Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Simultaneism

by Bogden - Compo Entry

A simple little game with two buttons where you dodge falling blocks.

...and a twist?

(Please play with sound before rating.)



=====HIGH SCORES======

Post a screenshot (or video?!) in the comments and I'll add your score to the list!

1. Bumblepie - 89
2. http://www.twitch.tv/mahjong50 - 84
3. Zanzlanz - 60

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#40Audio3.93
#53Fun3.89
#61Innovation3.97
#68Overall3.92
#130Mood3.58
#267Theme3.98
#498Graphics3.06

Comments

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

Definitely try this game. #nospoilers

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

Nice game... don't know how it fits the theme exactly... so with growing screens...you play more games ?

But still!! It was fun to play but gets way too intense by 3rd game! :)

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

Too easy.... oh wait....

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:24am

Great game! I loved how it started with two button controls and then switched to growing, my favorite incorporation of both themes so far.

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

Great game! Its very difficult but also addicting. I liked the music also.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47am

SOOOO Nice, I love your concept!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27am

very good, although naming you game so close to the theme is not a great idea/

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:42am

Love it. I had a similar idea during brainstorming, and the way you executed it was so much cleaner than what I was thinking.
Good idea. Great execution.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44am

Clever one! I really wasn't expecting the escalation to multiple games. :)

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21am

Awesome execution on this one. It's literally the themes. Syncing it to the music gives it a really polished feeling and ramps up the hype. You could probably put this on a flash portal and people would enjoy it.

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47am

Goes from boring to almost impossible very quickly.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51am

Thanks for the compliment doitle! Thanks to your suggestion I learned that kongregate lets you upload iframes as games! Who knew?

http://www.kongregate.com/games/Bogden/two-buttons

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Dude, you went over the edge with wsad....
Very solid entry, I like the idea, graphics and sounds.And you just want to play one more time :)

sp3ctrum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Really fun ! I like so much how the difficulty is scaling

mattrified says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

I really liked the layered music.

(SPOILERS!)

Very cool concept and fun play on the theme. I will say I sorta wish there was a health system. It was annoying to die at phase 3 before I understood it and then had to replay through phases 1 and 2. Minor thing. Nice job!

ianh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

So hard. T_T

Boberro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56am

You lied to me! You sneaky bastard :D

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I feel like I'm playing Starcraft: I go to build the second base, and my first one is destroyed :D
Very hard for me, but overall the concept is pretty good!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

It's so simple but effective. You lied to me about the two button thing though :|

Bogden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

@SSJMetroid, It's not a lie! The name of the game changes as you play :D

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58am

I want to see someone get a ridiculous score on this and upload his run to youtube.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48am

I don't want to give a review that will spoil the game, but I really like how you start playing by thinking that you chose one theme, but in reality, it's the other.

Or is it both?
HUH.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06am

Good implementation of the concept. I like how I wasn't expecting the multi-tasking at first. The UI could be a bit more intuitive, but who has time for A/B testing for a jam? ;)

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:14am

Hard!!!Hard!!

careless says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:40am

haha I thought I could multi-task until WASD appeared!

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28am

loved the twist, this is one of the reasons I like Ludum Dare- games that seem to be 1 thing and then surprise you as you play them. nice work!

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:01am

It looks so simple at first sight, I'm glad that I didn't close the game before ****, lol.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Well done! Had fun playing this. :) Furthest I got was 48 http://puu.sh/m0ux6/8031b89cc9.png (It becomes so hard with 4 screens xD)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Multitasking video games is hard D:
Had a fun time, although it really does get too hard when you get to the fourth screen. Nice concept anyways. Me likes.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Cool with the adding of both themes! Nice done ! http://puu.sh/m0ykc/bf222e788c.png

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Cool multitasking game, really hard (especially when math parts comes in). Simplistic but very polished, i mean nice animation, great choice of colors and music.

My score http://i.imgur.com/xuoneNW.png

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Great game! I've seen a similar idea done before but it was still very well made, and awesome take on the theme :)

thedashdude says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:47pm

The growing controls was a really nice touch, but everything after the fourth screen was to much for me.

Troma says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:20am

Too easy! Liked the concept!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:11am

creative, but too hard for my brain >.<

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:13am

Great idea and made it right!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:28am

Cool! Multitasking at it's best

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:35am

This sure gets hectic really quickly haha. It was a lot of fun, totally recommended!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:47am

The best gameplay, i think. Very clever take on the themes!
Was not able to win the fourth game ^_^

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:22am

Super fun game! great controls, fun concept.

Gets super hard by the 4th game.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Fuck my brain...

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Hah, I appreciate the surprise factor. I'm not sure if stuff was syncing with the music or not, would've made the multitasking easier.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:20pm

I really liked the twist. I was not waitting for that.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:32am

You should add simple instructions when a new game appears, other than that, it's a very challenging addictive game :P

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:06am

Wow that gets hard fast :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:46am

5/5/5/5/5/5/5 This is great. Infuriating but great. Super polished, fun, challenging game. One of the best entries. Feels complete, and ready to go. A+++++ would smash keyboard again.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:58am

A really great entry, similar to multitask. The difficulty grows really quickly, and it is a lot of fun to try and beat your high score. It does a great job of making you feel like you're improving, and each time you die, you really want to do better, and focus on the minigame you failed, making you die on another one! A really fun game, great work.
My Highscore was 89, although that was slightly because it bugged out when I was at 60 something and let me start from 70 despite not reaching it already.
https://gyazo.com/343d3c8d2c42ddd9b6ffd4c4667c2109

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:22am

Er... Did someone have a brain to loan ? One is not enough to properly test this game...
Clever gameplay, but very hard for normal persons (I mean, those who have only to brain lobes).
Good job !

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Wow. ok, this got hard fast. so much multitasking. so little time. you have to monitor the falling cubes, monitor the green ball, monitor the blue line, monitor the WASD portion, do basic arithmatic. MAN! amazing work.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:40am

Ha. Nice twist. But it gets seriously hard fast. I didn't get to find out if there was a fourth game.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:52am

Oh wow. Really innovative. Great mindfuck game.

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:37am

very fun and challenging game, great use of the themes

spotco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:04am

Really clever idea (I see you definitely covered your bases with BOTH themes), wish there was a way to skip ahead the easier sections.

KayZ says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Wow, great take on the theme. Didn't expect that. Need to play this game more often to improve on all those skills required to beat this beast!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Brilliant!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Well I have to admit, I played alone and couldn't handle it then I asked for help and I figure out that was still hard!! At the end was left two people with broken brains haha. Good entry, very innovating.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Well done! I made it above Zeriver - keeping the leaderboard alphabetical I guess ;)
http://i.imgur.com/m4g4qjR.png 60

Did you get the idea from Multitask?

I love how you have the player flailing to use different buttons - numbers, WASD, Space, and arrows. Really challenging but really fun! Definitely a thing you could get better at with a lot of practice and patience. An in-game scoreboard would be fantastic - I'm sure it would get more people really into it. :)

Also, I love the track you made for the game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]