Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Munchy Munchers

by misteak - Jam Entry

EAT STUFF. GROW. USE YOUR SUPER MUNCHY POWERS.

Munchy Munchers is a game about a plant called Blubbity who likes eating all kinds of things. Well, maybe not all of them... except if you're using the powerful Super Munch move, which makes even toilet paper and canvas shoes seem tasty!

- Controls -
Aiming:
Press and hold S to aim
Release S to eat whatever is targeted

Super Munch:
When your combo multiplier is 3x,
press and hold D to aim the Super Munch
Release D to eat everything in the blue area!

=============

lil' update (15/12 00:22)

- moar sfx
- changed game over screen
- achievements!
- hi-scores!

=============

hope you have fun guys, I had a blast making this one :)

everything was made during the LD, except for the music which was found at http://www.8bitpeoples.com/.
software used: Unity 5.2, photoshop (sprites) and bfxr (sfx).

cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#46Theme(Jam)4.31
#96Fun(Jam)3.77
#146Graphics(Jam)4.14
#181Overall(Jam)3.71
#247Humor(Jam)3.18
#321Innovation(Jam)3.40
#325Mood(Jam)3.45

Comments

quacklemtduck says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54pm

I really like it. The graphics are awesome, the gameplay is consistent and the idea is new. Would have loved a way to see your score after the game had ended, and maybe a highscore that was saved.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Great game! Amazing art and sound. It seemed like the higher the combo the rarer that food became. I understand the reasoning, but sometimes it was became too rare, so that it didn't show up for over 40 seconds.

misteak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

hey, thanks for the feedback!
I've got to go to work today, but maybe I'll still be able to add some stuff... we'll see

@paraxite it's just based on luck right now. maybe I could implement something that made the combo item more common once you have a 2x or higher multiplier

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Very solid entry! From the theme to the graphics and, of course, gameplay, you've managed to create a really good game. Congrats!

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Nice mood and elegant gameplay, I would like to have some reward depending on what I eat in the end.

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Nice game and great control. Gotta catch them all

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I Like it! took me a while to learn the mechanic, nice entry.

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03am

Just awesome !

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

Very nice game, excellent graphics, paired with some great music. I did find the collision detection on the blue circle seems particularly touch as I know I stopped on something to eat a bunch of times and it didn't count it.

Additionally, I found it easier to rack up points eating everything in the third row rather than trying to build up the combo to a super munch. The best I got going for combos was around 2200 vs 3200 by eating the last row as fast as possible. I think making the super munch available after getting three of the same would balance the ability a bit better. Despite that, awesome game!

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

I enjoyed the audio and simple gameplay. It would of been nice if the web version was hosted somewhere.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I liked the gameplay and the art, this is a good entry, great job!

RevelBase says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

Great simple game with great music :) Enjoyed

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02am

I really liked how you use this theme, this jam have a lot of game of plants but yours was different and i liked.
The mechanics fit well and the gameplay was really fun and polished! Good work!

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:51am

Really solid entry. I enjoyed the game. The mechanics are simple and clean, and the music and SFX fit very well. I wish the growing mechanic was somehow incorporated into the gameplay mechanics a little bit more (as far as I could tell, growing the plant didn't give me anything except visual stimulus). Very Good Job altogether!

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35am

Beautiful pixel graphics! Simple game but very well made. The music is also cool! Congrats!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:25am

Sweet game with nice graphics and mechanic :) I found myself waiting a bit long to grab things after getting to a x2 combo. Are all the edible objects worth the same thing?

Backterria says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:56am

Love the looks of it.Sprites are nicely done and gameplay is fun.

misteak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08pm

thank you all! I'm so flattered and happy with your comments <3 thank you thank you so much

and for all of you who liked the music, go download/buy She's albums!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Those graphics are pretty neat! Loved it! Keep it up!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice graphics, neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Great job, funny and has good mechanics with the themes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]