Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flow

by thristhart - Jam Entry

Use the left and right arrow keys to aim your plant as you see fit and grow a peaceful, relaxing garden.

Art by the talented DoktorGilda.

Music is the wonderful ", isn't the rain nice today?" by bbatv - please consider purchasing PEACE is king here at https://bbatv.bandcamp.com/ (it's available for free!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#16Mood(Jam)4.36
#46Theme(Jam)4.31
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#608Overall(Jam)3.22
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#689Innovation(Jam)2.88

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I really like the music, makes the mood of the game very relaxing. Nice to just sit and watch it go. Changing to night time is another great mood setter.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:25am

The game is very enjoyable and easy. Generally relaxing.

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:56pm

very calming and enjoyable game

tantumgames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Nice and relax music. Cool art. Well done.

acotis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

Hmm, it doesn't seem to load right for me. The first time I got chime music on a brown screen, every time after I've gotten silence with a plant growing from thin air out the ceiling and up out of the floor.

I want to play this game :(

thristhart says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:20am

@acotis - that's odd! I tested on a fairly wide array of browsers. Most recent versions of Chrome, Firefox and Safari should all work. Could you give some details about your setup?

eric777 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:51am

Wonderfully relaxing experience. A nice break from the all the shoot-em-ups in LD. Day to night transitions were great. Would totally buy a mobile app like this if there were a few more plant/flower types and more music tracks. Music was excellent! Nicely Done!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Very pretty. Too slow for my tastes but still giving you high marks in several areas. You nailed the dual theme and graphics and music are great.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Beautiful and relaxing loved it!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:58am

Not much in terms of gameplay but it's a very nice and relaxing entry.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:11am

Relaxing experience. Nice crisp graphics. I especially like the day -> night transition. Nice job.

kiv says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Really enjoyable experience, thank you

BudaDude says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:16am

Really chill. I love the music!

Nicolas Gass says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]