Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ICECUBE

by Stuntddude - Compo Entry

A minimalistic "puzzle" platformer, made for the theme "Growing". Written in Java using the Processing 2.2.1 library. Sorry, no sound! I was working up to the last minute on levels and didn't have time.

Controls: WASD or arrow keys to move, SPACE to jump, R to reset, MOUSEWHEEL to zoom



Edit: In accordance with the compo rules, I fixed the follow issues with the original submission:
- optimized the game to run about twice as fast as it did before
- cleaned up and minified all images
- fixed a bug where player could get stuck sliding along walls
- fixed a bug where players can fall out of the level
- fixed a bug where jump pad launch velocity wasn't consistent
- fixed a bug where WASD and arrow keys didn't play nice together
- added "R-RESET" to the window title
- removed unnecessary folders from ICECUBE-source.zip
- fixed some code style issues
- ported from Processing 2.2.1 to Processing 3.0.1
for comparison, the original files are here:
JAR: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zcsgx4m0zwbrkdz/ICECUBE.jar?dl=1
SOURCE: https://www.dropbox.com/s/jkro2crtusgk7a7/ICECUBE-source.zip?dl=1

You can find the post-jam continuation of the project here:
https://github.com/Stuntddude/ICECUBE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#33Theme4.38
#49Innovation4.00
#167Fun3.62
#263Overall3.52
#665Mood2.71
#677Humor1.79
#758Graphics2.55

Comments

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:23am

Fun game. Nice puzzle design.

fede0d says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Nice gameplay idea. No sound tough.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48am

Pretty cool concept! You should speed up the grow/shrink speed so there isn't as much waiting.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50am

Nice game! Loved the growing/shrinking cubes.

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39am

Fun puzzle game. Growing/shrinking is a nice touch. A couple of sound effects will improve the atmosphere a lot.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Great concept, I liked how there was a sort of tutorial level to teach you the gameplay mechanic right off the bat. Only missing music/sound, but great fun without it! Good work!

oparisy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43pm

I liked the levels design and the orange jump pad animation. Puzzles were original and properly designed, if a bit frustrating at times (when you have to judge which size you need juuuuust right).

Was I square pants bob? Alice in wonderland? Nice idea anyway, my funniest entry so far!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00pm

+ Nice level design.
+ Simple but fun gameplay.

- Not nice to put the controls on the window's title.

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Really nice take on idea and good level design. Gave up on the jumping puzzle tho : / - a bit too hard in the sense that it's really hard to know whether or not you're grounded.

Juin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Awesome mechanic i really liked it.

Team Tree says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Hi, I couldn't find the file to run the game! So I can't rate it. :S

felixreeve says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Super fun, I feel like you could have really pushed some of the puzzle design though! It's a great concept, worth working on and maybe making it more puzzle-based with a couple extra mechanics, this could be really good!

tazdij says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:52am

It was really fun, I played it for about 5 or 10 minutes.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:20pm

A well crafted puzzle game in a compo entry? Excellent work.

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:37am

Thanks everybody for the feedback! I'm going to continue developing this after the jam, and am planning to address a lot of the suggestions: two or three more mechanics (probably including moving/falling platforms and buttons), more carefully thought out puzzles, and sound effects/music (I already have some cool sound effects and just need to code them in). I'll definitely rebalance the platforming level to be less cut-throat and make the growing/shrinking a bit faster, as it currently requires too much waiting. I've also started adding some simple animations for things like death and springs to make the game look better. This compo was probably the most non-stop fun I've had in a weekend, and I look forward to participating in more in the future.

wongcito says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:07am

Nice game, and it's great that you used Processing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]