Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ZZXXX the Gremlin

by Thingo Studios - Jam Entry

[b]AN OLDER VERSION OF THE DOWNLOAD FILE SANS AUDIO IS UP FOR DOWNLOAD UNDER THE OTHER ONE.[/b] Don't run it unless the updated file with audio doesn't work (since the audio is the best part of this game, lol)

CONTROLS:
Z = Jump
X = Action
Arrow Keys = Move

Tziomara Ximenez is all set to publish her latest poetry anthology, "Growing Up Xicana: Hymns from an Old New World." Unfortunately, she isn't quite cognizant of the fact that she's little more than the obedient puppet of the thirteen gremlins that live inside her computer keyboard and maneuver her towards semi-stardom as a pawn in their nefarious schemes.

~~~

The version of the game uploaded here was made over the past forty eight hours; unfortunately, for the first time in two years, I'm going to be busy Monday evening and can't make submission hour. So I'm uploading the game prematurely in hopes of entry. There are a couple known bugs; most notably, I accidentally muted all the game's audio. I'm going to reupload tomorrow with the fixed file.

~~~

UPDATE: FINALLY!!! Updated with audio, which didn't export with the game because I am incompetent. If you're super picky about this just leave the audio option blank; the game's functionally completely identical. Wait, I made one change-- now you get five typos and five hits before you die. The game was really hard otherwise apparently.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Humor(Jam)3.17
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30
#577Mood(Jam)3.14
#594Graphics(Jam)3.30
#677Overall(Jam)3.15
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#803Fun(Jam)2.78
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Well done! If you continue to develop it, could you bound the cursor to the windowed screen? :)

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11pm

I'm so sorry, I actually commented on the wrong game. . .
Here are my real thoughts! :D

Awesome little game! I really love the art style! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

An interesting take on the theme with a surprisingly detailed story! I felt that it took a little too much precedence over the gameplay in some places, but it was a welcome inclusion for the most part. The gameplay itself was solid, but seriously lacking in any kind of feedback. It was difficult to tell if I submitted letters correctly, when a typo had been made, when I was in danger of failure, etc... With a few more cues to help inform the player of what's going on, though, this has room to grow into a great game!

Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:54pm

curious for the soundtrack...

Linear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Hey, I tried out your game, but it produced an error immediately:

"The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the software publisher."

I am running on a 64-bit machine using Windows 7. Thanks.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:07pm

@Linear: This game was made in Game Maker Studio on a PC running Windows 8. I'm not sure it's compatible with older systems. (Just six months ago I was running Windows XP, so I feel your pain!)

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:49pm

I haven't rated it yet because I downloaded it and it says 'This app can't run on your PC' D:

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:50pm

I'd love to play and rate this, but get the same error as Linear. >.<

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:53pm

[Lazarus-omin from Creative Sectors]:
Sorry, but I can't run it either. :/ "Program too big to fit in memory"

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Same problem as Linear. I haven't used Game Maker Studio, but if I recall correctly, isn't there a way to export the game for browsers? If so, it might be worth a try.

g12345 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Well, the game is pretty okay but I haven't been able to play very far because of the difficulty.

For what I seen so far it looks fine though.

No score for audio since this version doesn't have it.

One thing, the Z and X come so quickly it's almost impossible to get them in time (at least for me it's really too fast).

YinYin says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Good job on getting a version running with music last minute :p
I liked the music and pixel art of the actual game play segment.

The game play itself is rather confusing. It took me a while to figure out that a typo is made when I touch the right orb as the letter passes (and is she making the first typo on her own? I'm missing feedback on the text scrolling through to actually see the text missing a letter - or just the fact that I successfully did a thing). I still don't know why I would ever want to reset an orb.
I got up to the coffee leaking bit - but then couldn't figure out what amount of typos I want to hit at the end. Any seemed to hand me some kind of 'bad ending' - although the story and ending descriptions made it rather unclear why they were bad per se and what I was truly aiming for ...

I'd suggest you to focus less on story and more on mechanics (especially the player-game feedback loop) for your next game.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:08am

Wow :) Never thought writing pretentious poetry could be so exciting. Enjoyed everything, had the right kind of retro feel to it. Not just the graphics and audio, but the concept of the game as well.

ViKing Games says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:29am

The story is really original, but I didn't end up finding it all that funny. Graphics are really good, I love both the cutscene art and the in-game art; I especially like how the gremlins have their letters on their eyes. The music is well-made and fits the feel of the game. The gameplay itself has good variation and difficulty progression.

geckojsc says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:42am

One of the best games I've ever played in a Ludum Dare! The music and graphics are excellent, the scenario and dialogue had me in stitches, and the way you intertwined story and mechanics is genius. I loved it!

Ithildin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:14am

Interesting gameplay, detailed story and really cool music. Gameplay-wise, though, perhaps the patterns for the locations of the keys could vary across executions. Some more feedback on the prompt could be useful, too.

Nice job! :)

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:20am

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
I managed to run and I think it is a unique implementation of two button controls. The music and the font is bringing back old 80's memories and the game is somewhat similar, but the still graphics were too "real". When I got into the game for the first couple of times I didn't know what to do exactly, like the old times, where you had to read the manual.

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:48am

Fantastic music and a unique story. I wonder about what's living in my own keyboard, now... I loved the bad endings in particular. The gameplay took a little while to figure out, but it made sense in a short time - I never managed to finish the last level, but it was particularly crazy having to juggle dodging lasers and coffee!

5/5 for humour for including the most inventive and least tumblr-friendly plot I've seen all dare.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]