Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Upgrade!

by Mettra - Jam Entry

Upgrade is a combination of a micro game rush and a top down shooter.

You control a small robot with only two buttons.
You must beat micro games to gain upgrades that will be used in the top down segment of the game. How long will you be able to survive?

Button 1 is the A button, Button 2 is the D button.

Update:
Adjusted difficulty of the game.
Fixed a bug with restarting the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#29Fun(Jam)4.06
#82Innovation(Jam)3.85
#85Overall(Jam)3.91
#87Theme(Jam)4.21
#148Audio(Jam)3.71
#194Humor(Jam)3.34
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62

Comments

Esjaji says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42pm

I love the WarioWare-style minigames, and the fact they get so faster as you go along is so satisfyingly challenging. The shooting sections feel a little too easy at some points though, to the point I was struggling to get hit on purpose. Overall though, it's pretty sweet! The visuals and the music go well together!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:01am

This was a solid entry! Nice job.

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10am

Great game! I wasn't expecting the wario-ware style of gameplay, but I loved it. It worked very well with the theme. Seeing your bot get loaded with all the upgrades and watching it wreck in the shooting phase was very satisfying. I was going to suggest some things to make the game harder, but now I feel like it might ruin the fun of the game.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:07am

This is an awesome entry! As another fellow LOVE user, you did a fantastic job. I love the music in between upgrades. It gets me jammin every time. :)

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:08am

Wow, this is an incredible entry! There's so much game here. The Wario-ware sections are awesome, and it's really cool to grow the robot. The only problem is the shooting sections don't involve a lot of skill or anything, just spraying in general directions. The graphics and audio are awesome, I particularly love the pitch-shifting you've incorporated here. well done!

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:58am

Amazing game! I loved it

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:32am

You did a solid entry guys!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Wow nice gameplay mechanics. The graphics are very good too :)

luke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:26pm

its a good idea, but need more rework on the difficulty curve, it gets hard too fast

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Chrome blocks download due to virus found

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:52pm

This was incredible enjoyable. the minigames were great, and i loved the music too. becomming a massive blob of weapons was pretty enjoyable aswell. really well done!

srakowski says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:19am

Great use of the theme and solid audio. I really enjoyed how you combined the 2 button mini games with the overall concept. Well done!

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:54am

this looks great, and I love the different types gameplay you've added. Overall, great work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]