Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CandyShopping

by Kraky - Jam Entry

You are a kid who wants to buy some candies but evil men are on the street and they will try to steal your money !

You must dodge them to keep some money and do not finish under a car !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#536Humor(Jam)2.62
#628Audio(Jam)2.67
#875Theme(Jam)3.14
#994Mood(Jam)2.04
#998Graphics(Jam)2.07
#1045Innovation(Jam)1.75
#1065Fun(Jam)2.14
#1105Overall(Jam)2.29

Comments

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Nice game!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Graphics need some attention, but simple concept. I like that the player is berated for having his money stolen.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Nice, simple concept! It was fun to play, though the unforgiving collision detection made it hard to know if you were safe from the cars or not.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

The game is very hard. And smoking man made some fun to this game, good one.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Nice game, but sometimes we don't have any escape, we must die :/
Moreover it may be better (to my mind) to restart the level when you die instead of going back to the main menu.
But a least it's pleasant to play this game!
(Sorry for my bad english I'm french)

Taldius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Nice little game. The graphics aren't the best, but at least the gameplay was fun.
Good job.

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Really neat game! i like the concept, and like others have been saying, the art needs fixing. however, i used pixel art aswell, and i can help you with your pixel blurriness!

in unity, click on the sprite's file in your assets. some options should appear. Where it says "Filter Mode [Bilinear]" click on that, and change Bilinear to Point. that will make your pixels not look bad. another trick i use is changing the format to TrueColor, that way my pixel art has the colors i want.

and if i'm really bad at describing and explaining things, here's an imgur tutorial. http://imgur.com/a/BFmE8

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Nice game. :-) The graphics is unfortunately quite bad, cars should have smaller hitbox and it's maybe too much random. Gameplay is good, I spent like 10 minutes trying to win. :-) I also like the audio - especially in the menu.

CrispyOwl says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Hey I recorded this on a video click here to see it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzwlaWdr740

Hope you like it

davisan says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Cool game! Just decrease the size of the bounding boxes. :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]