Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Proud Sprout

by ambi - Compo Entry

Controls
~~~~~~

J moves left, K moves right, J and K together jump.
While pressing J or K next to a wall, the character sticks to it. Jumps have cooldown. Timing your wall jump to the cooldown makes the character go much faster up.

Description
~~~~~~~~

The game is timed. You will see your time at the last level.

What I'm most interested in is how do you feel about the movements of the character? What could be improved? What is good? What is bad? Any constructive criticism would be very welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#135Audio3.50
#154Mood3.52
#159Fun3.63
#184Theme4.07
#289Graphics3.47
#345Overall3.40
#375Innovation3.33
#382Humor2.58
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

Would love to play the game, but Google requires you to give me permission to download it. Perhaps change the link so that anyone can view?

ecj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00am

I'd like to play your game, but the link you provided requires that I request permission from you prior to being able to download it.

ambi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58am

Thanks guys for the heads up. I'm really sorry for the mixup. It should be fixed now, hopefully.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25am

It works now. I downloaded the game without any permissions. I need to admit that controls in the game in unusual. In most games character controls by arrow keys or A and D. And I stuck on the level where I need climb on ledge.

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Wow. This is a really nice made game!
Great gameplay and nice graphics.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Damn these controls are though! It's very annoying that the player 'glides' so much. Because of that I couldn't get past the level where you have to stand on your own skeletons on top of the spikes, I just kept gliding into the spikes.

Also, it is very awkward to try and navigate the beanstalks while gliding so much.

Overall: If you improve this gliding, I'd say it's a pretty solid little game well done!

ambi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30am

Thanks for the input guys. It's good to hear what you thought about the controls. The gliding can be ameliorated with pressing both buttons exactly only when then jump cooldown finishes. Only pressing left or right makes the character stick to the wall much better.

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54am

Interesting platformer. I liked the idea to make jump both buttons at the same time. The jump motion was quite difficult for me to control (just really floaty, hard to get those ledge jumps), but I saw several good puzzle ideas

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40am

dont have permission to play

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47am

Pretty nice! The movement is a bit wonky because of the momentum, but other than that, the idea and execution are quite good. Difficult as heck! :p

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48am

Nice game. Controls need to be a bit tighter though - the "floaty" controls made it bit more challenging though.
Good puzzle ideas. Lots of potential.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:18am

Nice. I feel like the controls could be better implemented with regards to the theme (i.e. it feels like a design that warrants more buttons), but otherwise not bad!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:42am

This fit the theme very well looked nice and played well... only thing I had an issue with was how floaty the controls were however it did suite the style.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Great mood! Controls are OK. Also, not sure if that's a bug, but in last level (the wall-jumping one) there's a bug. You can enter into the ground and climb it. Also great mood.

4/5

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:41am

this was lots of fun - controls were hard but easy to learn - nice work

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I liked the mechanics but I think the edge grab could be improved, I didn't feel much in control of the player. The rest works well to me, nice job!

shar says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:29am

This is probably the greatest entry I have played while rating games. Very perfect graphics, very huge usage of Unity's Particle System, graphics effects; physics and also, the swell and hard character movement! Interesting audio effects. Anyway, great job, enjoyed it!

thristhart says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:54pm

This is a fun concept, but I feel like the decision to follow the two button controls restriction hurts it. You really need a third "jump" button!

Valandre says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Nice entry!really good mood!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]