Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cipolletti

by psychonull - Jam Entry

Cipolleti is an experiment that blends some adventure and rpg elements with sports and puzzle.
It is not remotely near what we imagined, but it's all we could get done during this weekend.

Controls (2 Buttons)
<Z>: Up/Down for menus | Kick the ball (hold for charge)
<X>: Up/Down for menus | Call a Team mate (hold or it will forget you)
<Z>+<X>: Action/ Select

Tools used:
Framework: Phaser (javascript)
Art: A combination of Photoshop and a cool sprite taken from spritedatabase.net
Music and Sounds: None this time, lack of time :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#469Humor(Jam)2.72
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#686Graphics(Jam)3.12
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#823Mood(Jam)2.73

Comments

Bastionride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18am

Great title!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Really fun! I'm blocked at the 6th or 7th match but overall pretty good :)

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Okey, cool little game.. but it was still relatively easy, I mean I could use one person to run through the field almost without touching the keyboard... then I lost the ball once and it said you lose(?) football match shouldn't work like that.. :D but on the other hand, this looks so big project that I would not have finished those features either.! :) cheers.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

very nice entry. I can't help but think it could be a lot more fun without the 2 buttons restriction :)

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Oh my god its a really good entry, nice job. Really liked the intro conversation :D.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

took me a couple of tries to get the hang of but good use of 2 buttons. A bit more ability to speed up dialog would have been nice.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Good game, the graphic style is nice and consistent, and the visual aids make the two button controls enjoyable. The intro was a little long and it would be nice to be able to speed up dialogue, though.

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

This is one of those games that I'd really love to see a post-compo version of. You obviously had many great ideas, too bad the allotted time wasn't enough to fully realize them. And don't get me wrong, I still liked it. :)

terryg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

it kept freezing
i'm using firefox

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Wow, this is one of my favorites.great entry!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35am

Really great concept! Nice job! Not what I expected at all.

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58am

i love the history and the concept of the game, a little easy but is ok,nice

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:08am

I like the humor! Also like the concept of a soccer game played only with two buttons. I think this game could be better explored if you have more time (mobile maybe?).

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04am

good once it started but waaaay to much to do at the beginning - nice job

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41am

Interesting concept, though I think that the power bar takes way too long too charge. I'd like to see a post-jam version of it!

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:40pm

wow man. i was thinking about how would you implement soccer game with two buttons before i started to play. you got me by surprise. excellent.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:47am

The game was a bit difficulty, and it took way too long to get into the action, but I liked the overall concept. I think the execution could have been a bit more polished, but it's far better than what I could have done.

punkto says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:33pm

It took me a while to learn the controls but the idea is pretty interesting. The difficulty of the levels should be more gradual. Good job!

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I really like the idea and it's a very creative use of both themes.
I have to agree with other players that it's very easy to just use one player and run to the goal. Also I wanted to use more then one player but couldn't really get that to work. Also my 'Z' key is not next to the 'X' key so that was a little confusing

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:15am

That was pretty cool! I loved the backstory though the intro seemed a tiny bit long! Some music would have helped! The soccer mechanic work great with 2 buttons once figured out :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Pretty neat. i like the concept.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:33am

I like the soccer mechanic, and the player stats... I could really see the difference the speed stat made on the field... It took a few matches before I had to do anything more than run to the goal, then it got challenging...
Good work..!

celisoft says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:10am

It's nice to see other Phaser games. I also tried your previous game. Good work ! Thanks for your comment.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:55am

Interesting concept! I'd like to see what this could have turned into with more time...

justinooncx says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:28pm

An interesting game, but it takes quite a bit of getting used to. Especially the rules.

emmes says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice graphics, and cool idea for controlling the players and shooting direction!

rzuf says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:35am

Awesome concept! Could use some more control over team members placement. An instant-restart-match button could also be nice, so the player don't have to wait through the game over screen when it's obvious that match is already lost. Game is also incredibly difficult! I did my best, but this stage seems unbeatable:
https://i.imgur.com/1pY9JHs.png
Great work, you menaged to make something really original and cool. :D

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Nice game, and fit themes very well. I miss a soundtrack but you did a great work.

P.S: Happy to see Phaser development.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Soccer RPG sounds good to me!

Big Cow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Fun once I got the hang of the controls. Great graphics :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:59pm

This game really suffers from the two button controls-- you really want more motion than you have here. On the other hand, it's very funny, and I appreciated the random name generation. (I played football with Charles Bukowski! He's better at sports than he is at writing, unsurprisingly.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]