Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bonsai Master

by xaedes - Jam Entry

Bonsai Master.

Theme usage: Growing. You also only have two controls: Growing your bonsai (with G) and pruning it with your mouse.

Master the three elements Earth, Sky and Zero by growing a bonsai that has the necessary properties.

Relax, take your time, Enjoy

---

powered by

Phaser.io & require.js

Authors:
xaedes, jfreax

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Theme(Jam)4.47
#26Innovation(Jam)4.11
#217Overall(Jam)3.65
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#685Fun(Jam)2.95
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

retraffic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

This is a really interesting concept. I always thought that bonsai trees are cool. Maybe you could improve the UI a bit and I think the "leaf a hole in the middle" part isn't working as it always said that I did good even though there were a lot of leaves in the middle. But I really enjoyed playing this.

celisoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Love the concept !

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56pm

I really liked it, a good execution on the theme. Maybe this was intentional, but I found it hard to build a mental model of what pressing the grow key was going to do, or why long branches were dying off. Also, the objectives were way too easy. I felt like the core mechanic was solid, but you failed to build it fully into a game.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55am

I love this idea. It's very fun to cut & see the tree evolve. Congratulations for this concept !

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12am

Looks like this http://vgy.me/FkzJl9.png on my browser (Firefox)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17pm

BIG BIG LIKE for the artwork!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:25am

The game was pretty good. It's not necessarily my cup of tea, but I can tell, for what it is, that a lot of nice work was put into this, so many kudos to you for your effort!

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:22pm

really fun idea. I think you could make it easier \ simpler, and also refine the gameplay a bit. But the game seems to work very well already. 5 stars ;)

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:43pm

I really like the concept, but the execution feels a bit too unstable. The challenges are often already 'ok' when they start, and the growth feels too uncontrolled.

Improvement: Less dense branches and leaves, so you can really accurately prune?

Roffe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

I had trouble understand what was happening as I seemed to accomplish lots of achivements after just growing it a bit. But overall, very nice game! The idea is really nice. Perhaps it should be a little less dense so you can easier prune. Good job :)

themadknights says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Innovating idea

Larzan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Absolutely fascinating mechanics, love it.
Great implementation of the theme.

psychonull says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Nice concept. Little hard to understand what was going on at first. Great grahics. Good job!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]