Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CHILL PILL

by alvarop - Compo Entry

Instructions

Grandma, you need to chill. Take some chill pills, but make sure you put them in the right container. Now, remember : pink pills go in the pink container. Green pills go in the green container.

Got it? Chill.

The game was intended to be played on Windows as is, with the LEFT and RIGHT shift keys.

**IF YOU PLAY THE HTML5 VERSION, USE ARROWS INSTEAD ***

Controls
LEFT - RIGHT SHIFT (RECOMMENDED) - doesn't work on HTML5 version

LEFT - RIGHT CLICK

M - MUTE (because sound is an after thought in LD)

Developer high score : 158 (I'm sure it was more but I'm giving you a chance)

Made with Game maker Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#59Theme4.29
#81Humor3.57
#127Audio3.55
#143Fun3.65
#178Graphics3.77
#254Mood3.32
#291Overall3.49
#393Innovation3.29

Comments

jirrev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:35am

Very nice game, I do like it a lot

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:41am

score of 71. The increase in size as you make mistakes was a nice touch, though the final zoom level was larger than my monitor (any way you could grab screensize data in html5?).

Main complaint is the travel time of the grandma. I think the game would benefit if:
-the color switched the frame I hit the appropriate button
-I could only hit a pill when part of it was over the dashed-white-line

Solid game otherwise.

FinDude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38am

A simple game but very nicely executed. Firefox exhibited some strange behaviour during the zoom/newgame.

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

haha, nice. pretty difficult after a short period :P

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

This game is stressing me out, I think I need a chill pill. The growing of the screen is a nice take on the theme and that plus the music changes really makes it more stressful.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Cute, well made, awesome. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

ajmalr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Nice work! Fun little game, I like how the window size gets bigger as you make more mistakes!

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Love it! Had fun playing :D (The screen enlargement looked nice!)

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

This was a fun little game to play. I like how the screen gets bigger if you miss a pill.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:43am

I love how you use the theme Growing, gj :)

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33am

Great execution and presentation on a fun arcade-y idea. Finally seeing how the Growing theme got incorporated was surprising and hilarious!

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34am

i dig the visual and music, i also like the effect when you got "no chill" lol, the screen getting bigger and bigger, i don't know whats the actual purpose of it, but it definitely make the game harder to play

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36am

Great little game. zoom level is a nice touch and something different. well done.

aplomb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

Neat, funny little game with a mean learning curve. I love the little touches like the skeleton grandma when you lose. Great music too!

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

NO CHILL

That's the best growing two button theme thing I've seen so far.

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Elegant ans simple implementation of the theme. A humorous plot, too. Enjoyed it :)

Borodar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Good math for both themes and nice work overall!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

nice little ... big ... bigger game

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

77. Simple premise, with a cool twist! Love the screen increase as a punishment, creates some nice chaos when it gets too big to see.

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

it looks like a simple game, but the true art you have achieved here is what is making this simple idea challenging, fun and addictive..this shows in little details with music changing, and when you think..."oh no..there is too much pills coming now! you get the 'that's chill' saving your a$$..very well executed!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38am

Wow, thats a cool game. Love the music!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:47am

Addictive and the music tunedown when you loose is a neat idea

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:22am

The zoom feature was really neat. Made it quite a bit harder. Failure just kept making the game harder! Neat idea. Well done!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Oh I didn't expect that! The interpretation of the theme is just brilliant! The gameplay is simple and efficient, the game is really fun. Well done!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Haha! Awesome! I love the grandma, and the fun style to the art. And what a clever use of screen size!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Very nice! The growing effect is impressive :D

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Very cool, the use of "Growing" here is very unexpected and I think works really well =D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:35pm

224. Fun twitch gameplay
Not too sure about the screen starting small and growing. Otherwise, fun little game.

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Nice job! It took but a minute to figure out, and the sizing up as you failed to get the pills in the container was a nice touch!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

I like how the controls are forgiving, unlike most rhythm games. You can turn back around and correct mistakes. Although these types of games need to be more synced up with a beat, or else the mood kind of falters.

tweedle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Cool concept!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:48am

Fun little game. I like everything about this, especially how you did the visuals! :D

Tselmek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Really fun entry. Nice take on the theme but the window would just grow bigger than my screen size but it was not that bothersome. Good job.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:51pm

this is a funny game! like it!

AndreasL says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:29am

Solid game! I like how you incorporated the growing theme. Felt quite original. Simple game but enjoyable.
The music somehow managed to be very catchy and annoying.

Overall solid entry, good job!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Very fun. From a player perspective, I like how it increases in size as you play and mess up. From a YouTuber perspective...that's gonna be annoying to edit. xD Maybe make it optional?

I agree with the recommendation amras0000 said about making the color switch the moment you hit the button, also perhaps making the grandma travel faster.

Jwatt says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Not particularly interesting apart from the screen growth. It does have a bit of an aesthetic sense going on, so I'll translate that to the Mood score we all love.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]