Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Expando-ship

by FireSlash - Compo Entry

What's better than shooting bullets?
Shooting bullets that shoot more bullets!

Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkyUf0Ipjl0

Expando-ship is a fairly basic shmup where you pilot a ship that will grow every few seconds. The larger it grows, the more weapons and armor you have. If you get hit, a segment pops off. If you run out of segments... Well you don't want to do that.

The sides of the ship are bulletproof, so you can use them to clear out otherwise impassable walls of bullets. They will also reduce collision damage, but not entirely prevent it.

===Controls===
Z/W/Y/Space to shoot. (Spacebar may prevent diagonal movement in some keyboard/browser combinations)
Arrow keys to arrow.
C forces your ship to collapse (Turns off extra guns but you keep the armor still). This is useful to quickly shrink if you think you're going to take a hit.
M mutes the awful music loop.

== Known browser issues ===
IE11: No audio (Won't fix)
IE<10: Broken. (Can't fix)
Firefox Mac: Some reports of poor audio quality. (Can't test)
tl;dr use Chrome or Safari for best results, else your warranty is void

Source link is unminified and not CDN backed, so please use it for browsing source only~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Audio3.52
#142Humor3.26
#157Overall3.70
#224Fun3.52
#235Mood3.35
#282Graphics3.48
#361Innovation3.35
#610Theme3.57
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

Music was not as bad as advertised.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

I will try harder next time.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

I bit too easy for my tastes, but then again, playing shoot-em-ups is probably one of my main hobbies :P

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

very fun, too hard for me:P

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great game, too bad I'm terrible at bullet hells!

tanjent says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

A very tight feeling in this one. Plays super smooth on my PC/Firefox. Good work on the in game tutorial and really good music as well - which provides a good pulse and spacey feeling. Nice work.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I think I just filled the entire universe with my bullets lol! Loved the game, animations and FX were super fluid even though I had so many things on screen. Music was pretty good!! Bonus points for the background story and usage of the theme. My only concern is that things start to get hard to distinguish after a while. Wonderful job otherwise!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48am

Pretty tough game, but it's fun! :D

zulman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:31am

Love 3 kind of bullet hell weapons, music is fit perfectly with picture. Hope you will polish the game and release for mobile!

P.S. Little bit uncomfortable key mapping ZWY

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:45am

I think I shot stuff and then I exploded, or imploded. For all the bullets I was firing it felt like most of them just went off and had a drink with their mates instead of going after my enemies. L'enfer, c'est les bullets.

Tight presentation. Music was bearable. Good.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:51am

Too dam hard for me, but I had fun trying :)

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Really awesome concept! Fun to play but a little confusing. Would love to see more!

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Awesome concept, and bullets *everywhere* make it very satisfying to play. I'm also impressed there's a funny, well written story to go with it (ok I'm terrible at this sort of game so I cheated I just read level.js) Great job!

Os_Reboot says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Fun game, awesome music, incredible graphics. Well done, incredible entry overall.

Adreqi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:32pm

"Great game, too bad I'm terrible at bullet hells!" -- me, as well :p

also music is not that bad, just becomes a little annoying in the long term ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]