Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Run Santa, run!

by bessdlan - Jam Entry

Theme chosed: Two button controls

"Run Santa, run" is a game where you have to help Santa reach his sledge and collect a maximum of gifts, try to avoid kids, and don't fall in manhole!

Game design: Dlan and Bess
Level design and programming: Dlan
Graphics: Bess
Sound design: riged5

Work on Firefox, Chrome and IE edge (minus some sound errors), not compatible with older IE version.

Post jam version is now available, it fix the most troublesome errors, and Santa can ride his sledge now :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#284Humor(Jam)3.09
#455Fun(Jam)3.22
#475Audio(Jam)3.09
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#579Innovation(Jam)3.04
#651Overall(Jam)3.18
#798Graphics(Jam)2.86
#853Theme(Jam)3.20

Comments

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20am

Well, It's a nice game. It's quite simple but you have to think fast. I liked it!

murlsousa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:27pm

I really enjoyed playing it! Very fun and the music is great, nice approach on the theme. Good job

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Nice game. I liked the puzzles but they were pretty easy. You should continue developing this.

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I like the concept and the game is well done but it lacks some effects to make the game a little more dynamic.
Good job.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very tricky, interesting art,.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

The game idea is good and simple. The sound and gameplay is a bit repetitive.
But overall, a nice game!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:32am

Nice concept, music was fitting and the screaming children were a nice, humorous touch. Was a bit sad that when I accidentally caused Santa to run back towards his starting point in one of the levels, I had to close the game and restart as he just kept running into the edge of the map ): Overall, good job (:

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:20am

Ya know, I really don't like christmas. I mean, it was too many years seeing the same things: Santa, those bell sounds, the same musics...

But your game IS nice. The ingame music featured the little chimes and the "stage clear" music had a bit of a traditional season music, but it felt original and well made.

From something old and cliché that I'm fed up, you made something new and good.
The other game OST that achieved this was Ragnarok Online. That game approaches christmas like this too, taking some of the old stuff and mixing with something new that goes well together.

Nice job, grats!

Trizek35 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Very smart concept, I still don't like kids after playing this game ^^

Neil says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:20am

Nice clever little puzzle game. Good use of the two button mechanics!

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Awesome job!
Issues:
- I forgot that I had the right-click when I first encountered boys;
- Music is fun but annoying after a while;
- Candy counter not reset on level restart (at least when boys get Santa).

XenosNS says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Very well done, enjoyed that a lot!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I really enjoyed this little christmas game :D

kmakai says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

This was cute, I like the puzzle design a lot -- it's always nice to have multiple solutions, and of course the optional added challenge of collecting extra gifts.

Great job making a complete entry that's lots of fun!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Funny Santa :)) good work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Pretty nice concept (those kids are pretty fast and greedy as well). Too bad there's no option to replay a level once you've completed it and I think it might be better if you were able to select any direction changer on the map rather than being locked to the one that's currently ahead.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:40am

Good use of the two button controls. They work really well to steer Santa through the kid infested neighborhoods.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:15am

pretty nice in most areas... I liked the child scream "Hey santa!" the animations and control explanation is really good too. very fun :)

Zener says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:03am

Good idea! I like Santa running with a thrilling music.

themadknights says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:01pm

The game looks pretty nice, congratulations! It has some potential but I think you may need to change the christmas art for another one :P

Tosic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Kinda hard to play but I enjoyed the graphics! :)

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Using the mouse for it was quite tricky because the thing you needed to click "moved". I really enjoyed playing the game cool work :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]