Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wellspring Wanderer

by Justin Mullin - Compo Entry

A little game about bringing life to lifeless worlds. Hope you like it!

Wellspring Wanderer was written in Scala using the especially excellent libGDX game development framework (http://libgdx.badlogicgames.com/). Levels and plant life are randomly and procedurally generated. Non-procedural art was crafted lovingly in the GIMP. I used Propellerhead's Reason, my fingers, and a number of piano keys for the music.

The theme is "growing" only for this submission. I tried pretty hard to get the controls down to two buttons, but it wasn't to be. Oh well!

All art, sounds, words, music and code are my own and were created during the 48 hours of the LD34 compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#12Audio4.26
#14Mood4.23
#28Overall4.10
#71Graphics4.13
#76Fun3.83
#104Theme4.18
#192Humor3.07
#229Innovation3.58

Comments

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Really fun! It feels like I crash when I'm hardly moving though

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

The graphics and audio are really nice, and the gravity/physics mechanics must have been pretty tricky to get done in time! An option to skip (or speed up) the dialogue would have been nice.

Tackwin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

It's great, I had a good time playing it! I just feel that some crash are not justified.

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

I remember your previous game, Derelict... you've got a great way of creating these moods that make want to dig into the slower-paced games with nice slow tension.

Although I never got off the Derelict (so close!) in this one I got through a bunch of worlds, maybe 6 or 7. Although I started the game terrible and crashed pod after pod, by the end I was getting pretty good. I think I got through one world without losing a single pod, and I definitely got at least four in a row.

World two was the hump for me, I almost didn't get past it.

The style of the art, sound, and even the text really work together with the mechanics here, it's great design.

I feel all my crashes were fair in terms of physics, I never felt cheated that way, or at least not once I knew how it worked. One thing that kept getting me about the controls was the turning... once you start turning you can pretty easily stop with a tap of the opposite direction. But I think I would have preferred to have it stop on button release instead, so that no keypress expresses a command to stop rotating. I feel like the handling would be more intuitive that way, but I can't be sure.

The other thing I would say is early on while I was still crashing a TON, I felt frustrated the retry didn't start faster once I was past the special text ones. Once I was a good pilot it didn't matter as much, and in a way it may have forced me to slow down and relax so maybe you did that on purpose!

Great compo entry across the board.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:32am

Fun and calm, but some of my crashes I swear I was slower than my successes. Ended up feeling a little cheated because it felt like luck.

Headmade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:37am

Wow, impressive entry. The soothing music really fits well the smooth graphics and the gameplay is well done. It's also nice to see another LibGdx entry. Will have a look at your code later.

Headmade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:39am

Oh I found a bug. When I change the window size things get weird. Grass is no longer on the planet surface and floats in space the position of the ship changes and all kinds of funny things.

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:54am

Wow, and here I thought I was a special little snowflake with my own Scala/Libgdx entry. Nice one, very atmospheric.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:54am

Best audio I've heard so far. Great job! Was very fun and peaceful.

shatty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58am

Nice music and idea!

Look at my jam post, this is an example of how you can control a spaceship with two buttons

SoulBound says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:05am

The audio, graphics, and physics where outstanding! My favourite game so far!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:51am

Right now the .exe download isn't working. Which is sad because I really wanted to give this a try, but not enough to install java.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:02am

@Reggianito: The EXE version also requires Java, which is probably why it's not running for you. Sorry!

illraceyou says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:06am

The serene sound design and dark color palette create a wonderful mood for this game! I really like it. My only complaint is that the difficulty is fairly high in the beginning with trying to understand the gravity for the oddly-shaped planets.

gmatsura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:08am

The atmosphere and mood are great. I enjoyed the reassuring dialogue and the gameplay was fun. It was a little frustrating trying to get the pods to land. It also seemed like there was some type of gravity bias that made it really hard to try and land on the bottom of the planet.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:56am

I find this game beautiful. I really like the way you 'treat' the player, the kindness.

It's really difficult by the way! haha :)

Cheers, really liked it

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Great mood and art style! Felt very peaceful and spacey.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in the second episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/21/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-02/

Kimau says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Nice use of the theme and really love how the gravity works. Nice mix in of lander style mechanics.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:20am

Great mood and music, but gameplay is frustrating.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:42pm

> his XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.

please put zip archive.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Brilliant. Very beatiful cound and graphics.
Avesome physics. But very difficult for me. :)

Neil says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Absolutely brilliant. Addictive and challenging. Loved the atmosphere.

Jajo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Damn, I kept getting myself into an orbit...
Beautiful sound, graphics and gameplay. Orbital physics are annoying, but realistic.

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:10pm

How you managed all of this inside of 48 hours is quite amazing, looks beautiful and plays remarkably well. I would've liked to have seen perhaps some parallax on the stars in the background, and maybe a slightly better transition to a new level rather than just a white flash.

I can't call this anything but good though.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:19pm

brilliant)
i tryed to fly away to far far galaxy...but

zulman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Like Elon Musk trying to land Falcon9 :) Thank you, it's awesome :) Try our Let's Play Simulator 2016, i will be happy to hear feedback from you :) http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

Pepejson says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Quite hard to land sometimes but really amazing game.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Beautiful game, nice music and lovely visuals. Excellent entry.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Thanks for the great feedback all! Really appreciate it. =)

astrophics says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Really good game! Nothing else to say!

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:50am

Thoroughly enjoyed it what I could see, but try as I might, I could only ever land one of the pods successfully. No fault of your own though, I just don't have the finesse required for these games.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Great concept, nice mood and graphics. For me the collider for the planetoid was quite off compared to it's rendering, which made it quite hard.

pkenney says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 7:38am

Congrats on the strong finish! Looking forward to seeing what you come up with in April.

personalurban says ...
Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Nice, really nice gravitron style game. But way way too hard to land the thing, I think maybe it was rotation rather than speed for me, but I only could land a couple of pods, all on the easy side of the first world.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]