Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Szczypce

by Ret44 - Jam Entry

Another fruitful day was passing by, as always you gave it all and worked hard for the glory of your planet, but unfortunately you can't rest just yet. The enemy forces has arrived and the Mother Planet is calling you! Comrade! Take your grapple, launch your spaceship and fight!

Shoot down enemy, collect their weapon and grow your arsenal!


WSAD/ARROWS to manouver
LMB to shoot
RMB to launch grapple


Made by Insecure Shark - Bartłomiej Sieczka @ret44 & Piotr Bartosiak @piotrekpete
Music by Kevin MacLeod

Big thanks to Luke Spierewka for additional feedback and help.

UPDATE (18-12-2015)

We uploaded new post-jam version of the game. It's available on itch.io page below together with original jam entry.
Changelog:
-Some optimalization tweaks.
-Added online leaderboards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#45Fun(Jam)4.00
#120Overall(Jam)3.82
#275Graphics(Jam)3.88
#321Innovation(Jam)3.40
#404Audio(Jam)3.22
#426Mood(Jam)3.32
#592Humor(Jam)2.53
#659Theme(Jam)3.53

Comments

ianh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

The link is a 404 for me.

Ret44 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

Fixed,it should work now without any problems.

retraffic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Can't open the Mac version. It says the file is incomplete.

jasoncoan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Really fun. The slow-mo weapon grab is so satisfying. The sound effects and music could use more punch though.

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

That was fun! It's really satisfying about having a ton of guns attached and decimating anything that comes on screen instantly.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Very nice game guys! It's reminds me the clasic games

koocachookies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Fancy graphics and a very dynamic gameplay. I'm very bad at this genre games, haha. Congrats!

mat1er says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Man, the game crashed because I had too much weapon, my computer wasn't perfomant enough XD
Fun game!

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Crazy game, looks awesome, plays awesome!

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38pm

That was awesome! Loved the slo-mo effect

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Nice game!! I like the idea to add weapons to the ship. I replayed a few times.

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Really rad game, with an extra special amount of graphical flair, really nice work guys.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I simply love the idea of being able to increase the shoot size like that, but the game is fairly hard and I kept bugging up the aim control somehow, so half of the time I'd just die without even getting to fight much. Overall pretty fun, great job!

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Very cool game. As said, the slow-motion grab is satisfying, but it does get annoying after a while. The sound effects needs to be worked on, but overall a fun game and I will most likely play it again, as these types of games are amongst my favourites.

I like the idea that the weapons kind of stack on top of each other, looks badass once you've gathered enough weapons. Makes your grapple very hard to see though ;)

3/5 humps. Like our team logo, so you win by default!

Giezu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

There's problem with Linux build (had the same in my game), probably problem with Unity, I can't see nothing in game, just blank blue color (like default camera background).

Spyboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Su fun to play!

Spyboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25pm

So fun to play

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I love the concept and gameplay, great fun

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05am

Neat concept with a really nice artistic style, and very challenging gameplay. Sound design could use a bit of work, but other than that it's a very solid game for the jam! Nice work!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

LEt me start by saying one thing: this is one of the most polished games I've played on this Ludum Dare. Period. Really, the art style is consistent, the audio matches the action really well, I really liked the music. The control scheme is, however, begging a twin stick gamepad (I have one sitting on my side, waiting for the post compo version ^_-), that would make it even better to play. If you add levels and goals, plus some crazy intense boss fights, you easily have an indie game that I (and other shmups fans) would bye. Would love to play it on my PS4/Vita.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Wow nice gameplay and I love the artwork (+1) ... 10/10 use of slow motion in game :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15am

Overall fun game, but it could use a difficulty increase and something to gauge how far in the game you are, that and a health gauge of some kind.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35am

So satisfying!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29am

Awesome game, great idea. Watch out so the player don't get overpowered too fast or it gets boring real quick.

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Tons of fun!

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:40am

REVERSE BULLET HELL

Nah but seriously, you might be on to a brand new genre here. This game had a great take on the theme, and it got so absurd so quickly I had a grin on my face the whole time. The weapons could use a bit more punch, and some chunky sound effects and screenshake or something might help polish that game-feel a bit. All in all, I loved it, nice work!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Love it, but it's really, really hard.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Really loved the intro and mood/art style to this. I would loved for the shooting sounds to be more aggressive but a solid entry nonetheless. Good work

blackmagic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:55am

Nice game, I wish I could collect the guns by touching them. The growth of bullets is well made, and turn your game into a manic shooter really fast. I had a hard time controlling the ship because my keyboard is azerty, you should bind the controls with arrow key also.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:10pm

You've been featured in Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVgAZTrVZag

gladers says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I'm impressed with the amount of action and bullets you got on the screen at once while keeping it smooth! Also I got the high score ;)
http://imgur.com/Npqyhso

jackrugile says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:34am

I had a blast playing this game. The concept and the graphics were so awesome. It was so cool to have such an insane ship with so many weapons blasting at once, all at smooth frame rate!

After I gathered enough weapons, I was pretty much plowing through everything the game through at me, without even aiming though. Not sure how I'd fix this, whether it be bigger and stronger enemies more quickly, or if it should be harder to get the guns in the first place. Not sure. Not many people seem to have my opinion in the comments though, so it might be just me.

Either way, I was blown away by this entry. Nice job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Good concept, nice visuals and audio. I just wish there was more diversity and the gameplay was deeper. Still, great entry!

FireTwin says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Cool idea upgrading by grappling enemies' weapons. Looks amazing when you have a ton of them. Would be nice if they spread out a bit more on your ship as mine were mostly aiming to the left. Also it was a bit too hard at the beginning and then too easy after you got a few upgrades. Perhaps make the enemies drop weapons only sometimes. Would have been really satisfying to go up against a boss with all those weapons. Great game!

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Nice graphics, cool game, I love stealing weapons!! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]