Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Astral Gardener

by muumeroinen - Jam Entry

Randomly generated platformer where you can grow platforms!

Instructions in game.


Note:
You can fall down by holding down and jumping. (In case you are like me and build yourself into dead-end.. )

Sounds: http://www.bfxr.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Theme(Jam)4.06
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#641Audio(Jam)2.59
#748Overall(Jam)3.06
#953Graphics(Jam)2.35
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

not bad, took me a long time to figure out what I was suppose to do exactly but eventually managed to get to 26 (score?).

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

This is really cool! The platform creation mechanic is really neat -- it provides some really nice open-ended gameplay. I also appreciate the restrictions you placed on the mechanic (i.e. the player can't move, and the platform keeps rising as you move it side to side) -- it makes for some interesting tension. Nice work!

themadknights says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Looks cool! I like the idea of growing platforms :), nice interpretation of the theme. As an idea, you may add regions where the player cannot grow platforms ;)

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Really liked this. Controls were really sensitive, and enemy placement was a little too unforgiving for new players, but I think this could be great with more development time.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Lasted 142.0 seconds, man that was intense. A nice, little, unique experience that fit the theme well! Nice job! :D

spiderobert says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:53pm

due to the randomness of the enemy spawning and the sensitivity of the controls. it took me quite a while to get decent at the game, but it was fun none the less.

canon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:25am

Does the game get more challenging as you go? I was only able to reach about 30, but I noticed more and more enemies being introduced. It's a nice twist for a platformer!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:54pm

A simple but nice idea, I found it very engrossing to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]