Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Let's Play Simulator 2016

by zulman - Jam Entry

Welcome to Let's Play Simulator 2016!

Your goal is to grow up to 1 mln subscribers with your Ha-tube channel.

Only two buttons and one goal - audience growing.

Read e-mails carefully. Try to guess a real-existing game by matching Author, Title and Genre.

And remember, If you reach 0$ - no Let's plays for you =(

Please share your feedback https://twitter.com/LPSimulator

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Humor(Jam)4.05
#77Graphics(Jam)4.37
#148Audio(Jam)3.71
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#221Innovation(Jam)3.55
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#310Theme(Jam)3.90
#371Fun(Jam)3.33

Comments

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

This is a very interesting take on both themes! And an interesting kind of game! The effort put into the dialog makes every click worth it!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

Very interesting concept, though it seemed based heavily on chance (maybe I'm just bad). Nice graphics though, and amusing satire on LPers.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This game is more or less my life. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Fun and funny!

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Cthulhu game overed me every time haha :D
Good job!
(Although I'm not sure if I really had a choice or if this was all random)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Perfect! But Cthulhu fans take all my money to their fan-club. Maybe I shouldn't review every crappy game :o)

zulman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Hey guys, you are awesome! Balance fix uploaded, now Cthulhu is not so angry!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

The game has a very clever idea, amazing art and great audio.
Great, great job! :)

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20am

A really great game. I'm espacially loving the twitter button that actually let's you tweet about it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12am

Lovely art style. Well done. :)

ascam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Really fun game, relaxing but immersive. You've exploited themes like a boss. Graphics are SO COOL, along with music. Really nice !

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Interesting idea, although I'm not sure I understand what made a good vs bad game - luck? Nice graphics.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Fun game :) love all the humour inside haha.

zulman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Little helper: Good project if you've realise that project Genre, Name and Author sounds familiar as a popular real-existing game. Bad project - if don't. Sometimes unknown indie developer making good projects too :)

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Very funny, reminds me game dev story a little bit.
Athmosheric and strange)
Perhaps some body animation of character should be replaced - i mean he plays games (not porn) - but it's just my opinion)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

The art is great! But I wish it was more strategic.

Davision says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Great art style and interesting idea but the simple gameplay feels too random for me. Sure I can guess games from the name but that often don't work that well and then you suddenly get some mail where you are forced to pay money and it is over. The writing is really nice though and it is fun to guess games.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Overall a good game Great job!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

The idea is interesting, but I could not understand the game, since apparently, the options are very limited.

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Nice and innovative interpretation of the theme. However it seems too long and unrewarding for me. Either you get which game and is presented to you or you don't. There is no reveal when you guess wrong so you there is no aha effect. I reached 100,000 subs and quit because the game became tedious.
But I still like the idea and execution. Very nice art!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Cool art style and funny emails, nice work.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50am

Fun game! I really liked the writing, it was funny. The game looked great as well! I couldn't really figure out what made a game good or not, but still very impressive game. :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:50am

Great Art, smart idea, fun game! Awesome job!

zulman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Zillions tons of sorry guys, the game is not random, just not well tested balance :( Hope we'll fix it someday!

kmakai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:24am

Very fun, super creative idea. My only issue is that when I got to 1 million, nothing happened! Maybe a message didn't get triggered or something. Either way, I still enjoyed it a lot. Good job!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Sound of subscribers made my laughing! good game! Nice reading of theme "growing"

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Pssst - You've been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E44U-Zq5y_A

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Very nice graphics, humour and mood. Although the gameplay is a bit basic, it is very funny to play. :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Amazing graphics and innovative concept :D

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:08am

the graphics are really nice in this, and the gameplay mechanic seemed unique.

good job :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:44am

Pretty awesome take on the theme guys! Very well executed too. Bonus points for Lord Cthulhu!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:18am

Love the visuals and the sound effects! After a while, I just kept playing everything. :P

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:09pm

just GOTY

Wevel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Really nice game, fun to play however it just seems a bit random as to if games will do well or not

zulman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Thanks guys. Nope, it's not random, please read tutorial carefully :)

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:26am

Interesting idea but it wasn't obvious whether the game you play was going to be good or bad and randomly,I got -subs.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:29am

No HL3 for me :/
Enjoyed your game!

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:37am

I hate you for cancelling Half Life 3!

Muel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:24am

Beat the game after 54 days.

Poor Samantha...
...but if she had tried Speecher she would had fun.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:08pm

That was really a good game! Really nice drawings and a super cool idea! :D nice done

teamvr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Cool concept and art... I knew the music would be fun.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:39am

I'm disappointed that I wasn't able to play Hack Life 3.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Hack Life 3 was canceled because of me & you dude :(

gmatsura says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:27pm

This was one of my favorite games of this LD. Overall, it was very good! It would have been nice to have other options to help grow my channel, or offering a trade-off with going to sleep vs staying awake to play more. The game is funny and the art is great, but I was frustrated by the inability to determine which games were worth playing. From day 2-5, every game I played (or when I didn't play) lost subscribers.

loxo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Interesting idea, great graphics and audio.

Kimau says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

The rules are tricky to figure out also a lot of referential humor.

The left field use of the theme is awesome and I love your twist on it. The art and audio are lovely.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Pretty cool idea. I was hopeless at figuring out what was being referenced though. Art is great, sounds are fun, and it all works well together. Good game!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

This is very clever. If this truly isnt random then I suspect you had alot you wanted to say about the game industry and youtube culture and got to express alot of it here in satire form. Cool idea, but I felt like I was just picking what fake game I would want to play (which was fun) but if there was a strategy here I didn't get it.

I laughed pretty hard though when the MOBA came up and all the people playing looked super pissed.

g12345 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Thought this game was really humourous but I have completely no idea what names "sounds" like what other "names".

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Loved the references to both youtubers and games. Would of loved to see twitter management and Reddit AMA interviews. Also a minigame during the making of the youtube videos would of been nice. Such as picking an emotion to display before each video. Such as scared for horror, excited for action and sadness for MOBA...

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Cool idea and really nice looking graphics. A bit too monotone to reach the 1 million subscribers, though. I stopped playing at 330000 subscribers when there was a sequence of 5-6 fake games which was really annoying, since you don't have any advantages by telling the fake games from the real ones.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Art and animations super nice. Good mood. I think I have sat here playing this longer than any game so far. Would have loved some additional movement from the character in between gaming. I would definitely play again, especially when there is more interaction for more of the daily routine. Like choosing the right pic for instapanaram. ha

fafastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I did not understand how to make a choice (actually, i don't know if it has sense) and the game was a little repetitive though.
But i finished it, and the multiple references get me to like this !
Lovedd the age of empire 2 audio reference btw !

LeReveur says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:15am

Oh Yes ! I did it ! I'm an internet star ! And single, too. XD
Fun and surprisingly challenging game, well done !

spotco says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:22am

deliciously meta and nice art/polish :)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:17am

A great, original idea. Very well made!

WERT Studio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:43pm

good looking

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Awesome game! I loved the Half-Life Joke!
Really nice job!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:52am

A nice take on the theme. :) Didn't really like the "bro-talk" (or whatever it's called).

Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Guessing game titles and dev studios can be difficult ;)
Well made game with everything in its place!

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:30pm

This is so fun, well done, great graphics, sound design is hilarious, concept interesting. I only have good things to say about this game! :D

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Really funny game ;) Great job!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:18am

You say the game isn't random, but it is biased. The guessing game of if you think the game was good and if the game title or author are real or parody isn't easy.

The character also constantly complains about being tired, so I tested doing nothing and he still complains.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:26am

Great art and music! Original take on the theme also

zulman says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:57am

Aaranos, not OR but AND. So it's not about guessing Title OR Author OR Genre, it's about matching Title AND Author AND Genre :) Thank you for the feedback !

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Great game. Seemed to take me ages to really make progress. Good art too. Well done.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:40am

Cool game! I am interested to know how you came up with this concept, enjoyed playing it. Nicely done.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:49pm

"Not sure that you are reading this, but you may want to review the new hot and sexy Puzzle called Glands and Boobies from Bobcap Games?"

Whelp.



This game amused me for much longer than I expected it to...hahaha.

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Very interesting to make a sort of video game trivia competition out of a Let's Play theme, but hey... it's kinda fun! The references were a bit off for me half the time, mainly with the developer, but I could guess pretty regularly based on the game name and genre.

Looks and sounds great too, nice work.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Nice entry! I was just so sad I could not try hack life 3 and that I lost my gf in the end ^^ I really like the graphics and the mood! Good job ;)

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Theming is spot on, the graphics are fitting, sounds are a bit meh at times (or maybe I just don't like random non-word sounds) and the game is fun. Another critisism I have would be that the jumps in "amount of subscribers per video" was a bit jarring. I'd prefer the amount increase subtly over time, rather than going up in magnitudes every now and then. Overall, the game is very enjoyable and simple (in a good way)!

dollarone says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:08am

Great graphics! Excellent music and sounds. Really like the idea. Maybe more options of things to do would be nice, but then it wouldn't be two button controls. A lot of fun, and good humour. I got 1 million subs! woo!

Vosvek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:51am

I'm a fan of management clicker games (such as Game Dev Tycoon), so I found this game quite fun. The concept is brilliant, and I'd definitely like to see more games in a similar vein (Social Media Management Simulation).

My only disappointments came from the inability to save (which is to be expected from a Ludum Dare entry), and that I was often confused as to what the 'audience' wanted to see.

I had fun, and would consider buying into a full release. :D

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:45am

Great art and music, thought while fun at first, it got boring after a while. Got to ~400k subs before I got tired of playing. Great game overall though!

fullmontis says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:39am

This is na interesting game, but I found a little repetitive after a while. I love the visual and audio presentation, and I believe you did an amazing job on that front.

rojo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:50am

As someone who runs a small let's play channel I got a good laugh out of this. Some of those games are tough to guess! What really cracks me up is that dudebro can afford a mixer, but seems to still be using a $3 mic from the mid 90's. I think a bit of a longer music loop wouldn't have gone amiss, but other than that great job!

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Excellent game! The writing and humor was great, and the gameplay was very addictive!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:15am

Interesting..but I don't lose subs by not uploading! xD I mad bro. I'm seriously upset that it doesn't make any sense, but I also love it. xD

bodsey says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:51am

Wow, what a fantastic art work for a dare. Great audio as well. I'm not sure about the gameplay though, but maybe that's because I'm bad at it :)

kabel says ...
Jan 6, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Nice, idea, but it was a bit too static and unlogical...It got kind of boring very quickly, simple because this was a text based game, but appeared to have a visual style that didn't go anywhere.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]