Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Docker life simulator 2015

by Ayte - Compo Entry

Try to stack as many container you can.


Control :
Space to drop the container
R to restart when game's over

Made with java + LibGDX
Music made with : http://www.abundant-music.com/
Sounds with : http://www.bfxr.net/

17/12 : fixed an annoying audio bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#248Audio3.15
#256Humor2.88
#352Fun3.32
#598Graphics2.89
#612Overall3.09
#697Mood2.65
#718Innovation2.72
#776Theme3.30

Comments

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Fun for a while, but there isn't much to it. The music is nice.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Cool game, my wife was watching me play and asked if she could have a go. Her review "I liked that game, it was good".

I also made my game with libGDX, and music from http://www.abundant-music.com/ and sounds from http://www.bfxr.net/. Even with the same themes it great how much diversity there is in the games produced.

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Nice stacking game

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Cool game. I imagine this is what being a dock worker is like.

mathias234 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Nice game, but well umm, i am really bad at it :P still wont give you bad score because of that.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Very good game todo muchacho fun

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Fun, and the 'are you drunk' is a funny touch! :D

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I had a lot of fun playing this game, it's always fun just messing around with physics in a game, and in this game, the tetris like game concept combined with the silly physics of the game made for a great experience

The graphics and audio were sub-par, and the audio was also fairly loud.

Overall this was a very enjoyable experience, thank you for the game! :D

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nicely made game, short and sweet! Good job :)

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Fun game. My highest score was 13m, which is probably pretty appauling.

Nice graphics and musics. The game's physics are quite impressive, but I noticed you can get a sneaky win by dropping the crates immediately after they appear (as they have very little initial momentum).

Cool game overall! :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Wow this was really fun, it was just the right amount of crazy. Nice work!

The instant retry was key here, I played a bunch of times.

The comments from the sky were a nice touch. I kind of wished I could see the containers plummet into the sea and that it would be hilarious, but I understand why the screen has to scroll that part down so I have room to play.

Also, good job making the song for a compo!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Something about this sticks with me. I like it :) Good job!
great audio too, really suits the game.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41pm

This is one of those games which is a simple concept and easy to pick up, but you can actually get a lot of mileage out of it. Some people have commented that it's short or gets old quickly, but I found that because of the quirky physics, it allowed for emergent strategies (such as making use of slipped boxes to form a larger base for your structure), which gave it good replayability. The swinging chain was a really nice touch. Good job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10am

Simple and well executed. I did encounter some issues when it comes to graphics and clarity of gameplay, but overall the game works and is cohesive enough to guarantee a fun gameplay experience. I do wish there was more to it, though.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Combining physics with a stacking puzzle game was really cool. Sinking the boat gave me mixed messages (I thought I was doing something bad), but it definitely seemed like a concept that could turn into a full-fledged experience. Well done.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Almost growing, almost two buttons :P

buddhaman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I had fun with this for quite a while. It runs on mac too btw.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47am

Very fun, some bugs with physic :)

"Are you Drunk ?" :P

Zhaos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Great game, best game simulator i have played boro :D

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26pm

The Music is not bad but the game is a little boring after a while. The use physics was nice as well as the witty comments when you miss.

shrapx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42pm

hahaha, fun, i got 15 meters after a couple of tries, nice busy music and funny simple sound effects.. wizz! wooo! interesting idea too, i count only one button, but the stack does grow if you play well enough. good work :D

coywolf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:37am

Not entirely sure how but I bugged out the sound that plays when a crate lands, it'd play like times quickly. Overall pretty fun though, offered a good amount of challenge

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:20am

Nice gameplay and graphics, really cool mechanics, congrats! I liked it!

davidB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Thanks for the few minutes, I spent on your game.

architect404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:41pm

fun and amusing, certainly not easy, my highest score was only 16m. a little frustrating when you dropped a container and it would collide with an instantly appearing new container before it had gone anywhere. lighthearted entertainment, good effort!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:54am

Is this a growth or two button theme? I saw none.. the idea may be good but the physics makes the gameplay too hard.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Are you drunk? So what if I am!

Krafty says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:34am

My best score was 16m, I wasn't too good =P Interesting but it got kind of dull after a while. The music was good though, I liked that a lot!

scorched says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:48am

Funny, but why the ship is going under water? :-)

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Great music and fun game play. I wasn't very good at this. Not sure what the trick was to stacking before the containers started swinging wildly out of control. Still nice play on the growing theme.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Challenging well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Well I had a lot of fun playing this game. My best score is 19.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:46pm

I am now prepared to be a dock worker right? Nice game, took me a few tries to get the hang of it then i could keep stacking. Maybe if you add some different kinds of crates it could mix it up a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]