Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Knight vs. Mage

by Thembi - Compo Entry

GAMEPLAY:

Action icons proceed from the right side of the screen toward your character in the center. When they are in the highlighted region directly above your character's head, hit the right key:

SWORD ICON: Press A to attack and deal damage to the enemy.
SHIELD ICON: Press D to defend.
GREEN ARROW: Press nothing to dodge.
POTION ICON: Press nothing to gain health.

You take damage if you press the wrong key.

---

My first Ludem Dare entry. I didn't use my time very efficiently, but at least it resembles a game.

I used Unity as my engine. I used Sfxr for sounds, and Beepbox for music.

The Unity project source and Windows/Linux/Mac downloads are available on the itch.io page below. Just hit "Web" to see them all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#205Audio3.27
#359Humor2.63
#386Graphics3.28
#400Fun3.26
#444Mood3.00
#481Overall3.23
#554Theme3.64
#735Innovation2.69

Comments

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03am

Some UI elements are of screen but besides that a pretty solid game, Good job! :)

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15am

The "notes" are very fast and it seems not registering my key presses? I'm bad at rhythm games in general though so :) It would be nice if the game can start of slowing and give me time to get familiar with the control first. Otherwise a nice looking game with decent mechanics :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16am

It's actually pretty hard to win but I like the mechanics and the soundtrack. Maybe the window in which I have to react is a bit to small.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50am

A near perfect score. I nearly smashed my keyboard! Great job.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05am

Very playable. I could see everything on screen and it seemed to respond fine. Wasn't sure what to do with the green arrow. Would have liked a small break when i managed to kill each guy.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Pretty cool entry. Graphics are nice and the music is really cool as well. Well-paced and challenging. Good luck!

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Its messy. I don't get it. Nice style, but it is unplayable.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

The strong beat of the background music kept me engaged well. I liked that a lot! Also, the timing of hitting and passively letting the items past was really cool. I feel as though you could make different playstyles for each character.

Very cool!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

Well done. everything worked as expected. ;)

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

Hey, nice idea to turn a rhythm game into a fighting game. Loved the filter used to give the game that feeling of an old console connected to the TV through an RF adapter :).

KBF123 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

I like it!
The reflex based game matches my tastes

Reisen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:27am

An interesting take on a rhythm game. The blank actions adds some depth to the game. UI-wise, the left part of the bar doesn't see much action.

Good game!

richardjs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:39am

Great job. I've played it once, got to level 7, and was going to stop. But then I saw a comment refer to beating the game, and I had to go back and try again. Still died at 7, but I'll probably come back. If you actually can beat the game, it'd be good to let players know, so they're motivated from the start >:).

I really like how you took a simple rhythm game mechanic and layered a miniature RPG fight over it. While it doesn't *actually* change much (you still want to hit the buttons at the right time), it makes the player feel much more involved. It gives a clear sense of working toward a goal, with a definite end state (many rhythm games just go, without much change or arc, until the song ends). It'd be cool to develop the fight mechanic further.

Again, great job.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Extremely fun, and a really good use of the 2 button control scheme. The sounds effects and score were perfect as well, altogether very good!

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:38am

I like the concept and the mechanics. The art is also well done. Of course there were no time for much variation, but with more options of warriors, this game would be awesome.

miwuc says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Love it! I like the rhythm game mixed with an RPG theme a lot. The presentation is very polished and it's lots of fun to play. If I had to nitpick, I'd say it would be nice to have more feedback: make it more obvious when I miss a key, make it more rewarding when I gain a level.

davisan says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Cool game! Nice graphics and use of the theme. Just need more flashes and shakes! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]