Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Vitae

by Slothmachine - Jam Entry

//There is a random 2-5 second freeze in middle of the game. I have no idea why, yet.

In this LudumDare I did a solo run. And made a thing… Not sure if it is a game.
But it’s pretty short. Time is precious. Have fun!

Code: Miikka Harjuntausta, @slothrone
Music: "Kline Glen" from MrNightVarga

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood(Jam)4.35
#82Audio(Jam)3.95
#94Theme(Jam)4.20
#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#170Graphics(Jam)4.09
#281Humor(Jam)3.10
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Uh... There's no link, no game.

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

can't find a link.

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Phantom game?

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:07am

Link added! I started submitting before I had the build online. But now it's done :)

dos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

I drew a heart. It was beauti-something.

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

Great game, love the graphics, and clever idea!

ryandali says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:31am

Visuals and audio look great, very calming.
Would prefer more options in terms of gameplay, maybe colors?

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

Well thought out game with pretty and somewhat minimalistic graphics, in a good way, and a VERY sentimental little tree. ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

Love the ambience

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Pretty experimental, but cool. Very chill. The tree's talking was cute. It did crash for me unfortunately, I guess because of Unity's WebGL stuff still being a bit wonky. Oh well, good stuff anyway.

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

very charming, nice atmosphere and fun too.

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

Love

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17am

This was lovely -- I could see this mechanic used in a more traditional game, but it's also great in this form. The art style and audio match the mood perfectly.

I hit a freeze during two playthroughs, but I really enjoyed this nonetheless!

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32am

The game froze for me as well, but I must say the mood was awesome. I loved the weird theme and the soundscape.

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42am

Hmm. I get a freeze too, but it continues after a while. Does anyone have ideas what could cause such a thing?

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12am

It comes randomly in mid way through the game. 2-5 second freeze. Then it continues normally. Nothing special is instantiated or done when this happens.

misteak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26am

such a kind little tree :')

Webravenz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53pm

amazing mood, cutest little tree ever

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

This game is a gem, a piece of art, I love it! It's really refreshing to play games like these. This game is not really a game in a normal sense, it's more of an interactive experience that showers you with compliments.

Great job on this, it's beautiful. This is one of the best games I have played in Ludum Dare so far, well done!

Thanks for the game, I hope to see you make more games in future Ludum Dares!

Patacorow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Very polish entry!
The mood is perfect, the graphics are neat and the overall idea is lovely.
I wish there was a way to see other's plants online.
Good job :)

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Cool story bro (it actually was :D)

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57am

*Victory Dance*

Music was amazing

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31am

Very interesting take on the theme! Liked it! Calming and peaceful and a funny joke at the end :) Enjoyed myself.

GagaPete says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:39am

No audio in Chrome but in Firefox it works flawless. Great execution, lovely music. I like that experience. I guess you should try to make the result sharable on Twitter or alike, so people could share their "drawings".
Also it sometimes don't let you grow a pixel directly between two black pixels, that makes it hard to create really great art. :)

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Not much of a game, but the atmosphere is relaxing.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:53am

didn't load at all for me on chrome but worked after some loading time on firefox.

Clever concept and the visuals as well as music tied showcased the mood really well. in terms of gameplay it was more open ended and artistic which didn't feel too much like a game, nevertheless I enjoyed it for what it was.

You could potentially expand this further and add some mechanics to turn it into more of a game per se. Either way I think this was a good entry that could have been pushed a bit more.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I really liked your approach to the theme.

Pusty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Nice graphics very good!

Troma says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Good graphics and sound!

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Hm, interesting idea! I love how you tried to create a calm yet lively atmosphere with the camera movement and the particles.
I felt a bit like the lines screamed to make a penis or something bad with them ... I wonder if it would have felt differently with little round bushes to create your plant out of or something similar.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I had to, im sorry
http://i.imgur.com/Wpnp1Yy.png

Interesting experience. I liked graphics and music, really matching together. Fun game.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Beautiful idea and take on the theme.. would be awesome if all trees were saved and you you got to see a forest full of all creations at the end.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Really touching little game! i loved it

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:09am

it crashed to times for me at: "sometimes people are beautiful". I wanna see what happens:(

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:40am

Wonderful experiment! Really like it ^_^

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:22am

Thank you for being so nice to me.

rijnswand says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Good idea, that was a nice and relaxing experience.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:09pm

No se oli sitten vissiin vaan semmonen. Ilmeisesti aika helkutin tärkeitä puhekuplia kun pitää aina tulla hiiren tielle. Eipä mulla muuta.

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Lovely little non-game :-) Great style, great audio, great little story.

Good job!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:21am

Awesome! I love the atmosphere :D

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:39am

Yes this is a game. I had a good time making the tree grow. I felt good about giving the tree weirdo limbs. Sometimes I was not able to shoot my tree particles the way I wanted, but it didn't matter. I wish I could export the tree. Tweet it or something.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:14am

"Think through the hights is like a zen garden, but a vertical one."
- Loa Stue

"Straight minds can make twisted things. And vice versa."
- Jan Cloud Vindom

"What the hell am I doing in a quote ?!"
- Mimi Mansho

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:45am

Like the zen nature of this. A nice relaxing "game" to end my night of playing LD games. Would be neat to see a forest of everyone's creation. Thank you for this.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:17am

Very relaxing. Could be expanded into a longer experience for sure!

GFM says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Interesting little experience! :)

The aesthetics are great! I really liked how simple but effective the graphics are.

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:42am

really nice experience

Radnap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

ThReally nice graphics, i love the ambiance ! The dialogues are well written and i found it quite charming.
The only downside is the sound which are a too noisy and masked the music while not really corresponding to the overall mood. Well done anyway !

Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:47am

What a charming little tree.
(Animating the pixels wooshing into place was a nice touch.)

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:06am

Really lovely game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]