Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Splatter Trail

by calsmurf2904 - Jam Entry

RUN THE WEB VERSION IN FULLSCREEN.

Some of the UI elements aren't placed correctly in the embedded version.



One of the most anticipated titles in PlayStation2 history absolutely lives up to the hype.
Splatter Trail: Sons of Liberty is the follow-up to one of the most captivating and intelligent adventures on the original PlayStation.
Solid Bob, everyone’s favorite mullet-sporting supersoldier, is back, along with many other familiar faces and voices.
While its predecessor was lauded for telling a complex story, this sequel has even more fascinating twists and turns.
Also, like Splatter Trail, ST takes console-game storytelling to an entirely new level with stunning in-game movies,
great graphics, and game mechanics that let you find your own solutions to challenges. The game’s twisting and at times bizarre plot will undoubtedly keep some gamers perplexed.

Bob has replaced the moronic enemies from the first ST with more cerebral and capable foes;
this causes an even greater emphasis on stealth than the original. The controls have been refined and Snake’s repertoire of moves has grown,
significantly deepening the gameplay. This is, technically and stylistically, one of the best-looking PS2 games on the market.
The sound is also topnotch, with a fabulous score and outstanding voice acting. What makes this game such a standout, however,
is how all of these sight, sound, and story elements combine to immerse the player into an entertainment form somewhere between movie and game.

It will be years before Splatter Trail: Sons of Liberty is surpassed. This is interactive entertainment at its finest.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#743Overall(Jam)3.07
#754Fun(Jam)2.87
#917Graphics(Jam)2.47
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

cryptlexity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

Couldn't figure out how to win, but I think it is a very different style of rts.

pontooncity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

Neat concept. Would be pretty fun if it was two player.

et1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36am

Always upvote paint-based games :)

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03am

Cool idea, but there's no win condition?

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

nice idea, but the enemy ai is kinda simple

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Hardly understand what i have to do. Maybe some tutorial?

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Pretty clever game. i got a good laugh from the intro screen too.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Not bad. Was sad to see that it was just a single level. And the AI sucked, so a multiplayer version would be pretty neat.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]