Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tile Risers

by et1337 - Jam Entry

Explore a labyrinthine world in Tile Risers by collecting and stacking numbered tiles higher than your friends! Tile Risers satisfies your latent subconscious craving for multiplayer exponent-based puzzle action.

Basically, it's multiplayer 2048.

Created by Jesse Kooner, Benjamin Homan, and Evan Todd

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#97Innovation(Jam)3.82
#143Overall(Jam)3.77
#190Fun(Jam)3.59
#292Graphics(Jam)3.84
#528Theme(Jam)3.66
#679Mood(Jam)3.00

Comments

JesseK says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42am

It was awesome working with Evan and Ben on this :]

terop says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

Definitely original idea for a game. Clearly implements the theme, and very nice looking graphics. I would like a little more action for it, now it pretty much waits for keypress before anything happens.

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Wait, what am I supposed to be doing?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

Interesting concept. With a setting and theme I could see this being really engaging.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31am

Great work !

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37am

Strange idea, far too complicated for me. It feels very hard to determine a course of strategy once you develop a big chain of tiles; Especially with the placement of the block walls. I think perhaps the level design could be simplified and the chain tile activation mechanic could be changed some how... But thats depending on what kind of challenge ur trying to create. Anyway nice game; 4 stars for innovation!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01am

Great concept and fun game! Really nice job

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26am

very relaxing game, surprisingly!

loved the simple look to it all, and was a fun take on the 'threes-type' genre.

overall, it was a fun, solid little game, nice work!
[and I gotta be honest, it was actually a little heartbreaking when one of the orange cubes destroyed my strike haha]

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17pm

As I was playing this I thought to myself how cool it would be if it was multiplayer. Then I found out that it was! Love what you did with a such a simple idea. It would be cool to see who's blocks I was stealing, though :P

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Loooove the art style - so simple and clean. Nicely put together, good job guys!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Very nice entry there ! Great aesthetics, well polished, concept is neat and well implemented. Well done !

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Great work! Very nice environment for a 2048 like game!

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Nice game, liked how I could bump into other in multiplayer too!

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Great game, love the multiplayer competition, was a bit lagy at times

vortex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:56pm

You say multiplayer in the description... Are those actual other players... Am I stealing their numbers?XD
It was a really nice twist on the whole 2048 games... It had nice graphics and was fun to play, but I think the other high numbers just laying around is making the game almost too easy...

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Best gameplay so far and pretty graphics. Great job!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Great game, very interesting to play. Very good representation of what your gameplay is trying to do. Interesting concept.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

This game is awesome, highest rated by me so far! :)

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Neat game, but it's very hard to keep track of where all your tiles are. I like the idea though :D
Also it's cool how your tiles become higher as their number grows ^^

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Looks super nice, and idea is very interesting. This is one good entry!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Really nice game - an awesome spin on 2048!

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Didn't see any other players but a nice looking 2048 style game which involved me randomly mashing buttons until the numbers got larger :)

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Awesome game! Super fun when it's multiplayer.

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15pm

This puts a very nice twist on the 'Threes'-type game, making it something new altogether. Very nice visual presentation, too. I can imagine this going further.

srakowski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28am

Very cool take on 2048! Well done :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

I like the look and feel. It seemed intuitive at first. I combine numbers to create stacks, and then If I moved a stack into a light with a matching number I'd move on to the next level? But then I wasn't sure if I was advancing or just teleporting elsewhere (and if that was a bad or good thing). Pressing spacebar didn't do anything for me and the controls didn't seem to work in fullscreen mode. I still like the idea, it feels like with a little more work it would be a game I'd easily find myself playing.

emmes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:20am

Nice graphics, neat idea, very innovative. Didn't see other players this time.

I'm missing a real win condition, though, and it's unclear so far whether there is any real challenge, or it's always possible to continue...

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Best used of THREES mechanic that I've seen so far! Really a great well done!

axoona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11pm

nice puzzle game!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice art. Input is a little slow. With such a large screen it's not hard to just jam the keys for a while and then start consolidating, but that's pretty much true in regular 2048. Definitely gets tricky when you get to the space-restricted maps!

ronniepedra says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12am

Cool style, nice mechanics and well polished! Congrats!

kidando says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

pretty neat!!! You pulled this off in 48 hours, you have my respect. I love math puzzles. Awesome submission

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:24am

Nice variation of the Threes-Idea! But is it intentional that I almost always have one of the goal-tiles at the beginning? Started one level with a 16 tile, next one with 32... made winning quite easy, because those were the ones I needed.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Amazing!!!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:56am

Good twist on a proven formula - the multiplayer is really cool.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:08am

Cool take on the classic!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Really innovative, but it is too random and easy. Good work!

3/5

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice game concept! I like the style, it fits the game well. Some background music and sound effects would have been nice though. Nonetheless the game is fun to play.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very clever and solid game idea! Like it =)

Stending says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Really innovative, and really fun to play!
Awesome work!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Instantly reminded me of agar.io, and has a similar feel to it, but it's not that "combat" oriented. I sadly didn't see many other players, and when I did they were mostly AFK. It was difficult to tell why tiles would lose my color, how it's determined which I keep and which I lose.
The screenshake on every button press was a bit too much.
Really fun idea, but hard to tell if is fun to play if no players are online.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Interesting game-play and nice graphics.

You should ask for a name at start and display names of other player because multi-player is a serious plus for a LD entry and a real challenge but it's not actually clear that other players are real humans ;)
Displaying the winner of each round may make this game very addictive.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:21am

Loved 2048. Loved this.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:30am

I had no chance to meet other player but playing alone somehow remind me katamari damacy

Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Really cool to play multiplayer and it was very addicting :) It became a matter of who could steal the other person's piece the fastest when they reached the next level :P We reached the number 4096 but decided that it was too unrealistic to reach 8192 and would take ages. Would be really cool if it had sounds and a way to see where others were in their progress.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:05am

It was fun to got through the first couple of levels and after that it was a huge fun to push tiles like Sokoban-like games to get to the next level. Sometimes other individual stacks emerged, it was a short but interesting meeting.

Feb 24, 2016 @ 5:13am

Made my way here from http://etodd.io/ checking out your dialog tree. Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]