Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Let's Grow Mr. Bubbo

by tigerrenko - Jam Entry

Let's Grow Mr. Bubbo

Game was concieved when my daughter, Szedike made cast of characters lead by Mr. Bubbo. Since I didn't have time (and skill) to make the game she proposed (she made awesome game dev doc, one of the best I've seen), I've made this 'origins' style game about Mr. Bubbo's youth.

In turn it is a slighty educational game teaching kids what's edible and what isn't as well as what is nutritious and what isn't.

Music was borrowed from Geof Johnson "5 fruits and vegetables" and sounds are from Freesound.org.

Art was made by Szedike, and I did the game (scripting mostly).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

How do you play this? I can't see a release on the Game Jolt page.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

It's working now... I didn't know how to publish the release...

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Are the positions of the answers randomized? It seemed like I only got two out of the whole game that were the top answer, all the rest were the bottom answer. Would have been nice to see the two different options presented visually rather than just as buttons with text.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Yea, answer positions are randomized, so that kid can't cheat (e.g. top answer is the 'good' one). And yes, I would prefer it more visual, but my skill was limited in creating such imagebuttons. Sadly I only learned it very next day when the LD ended...

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I was disappointed that feeding Bubbo sponges and dirt didn't grow some kind of monster, but perhaps I just wasn't persistent enough. Back to the game!

gelisam says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:36pm

The OS/X link points to a Windows-only download?

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:18am

Sorry, added OS/X build now

Masuno says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

Sweet, a Ren'Py game.

Although there's not much to it, I'm sure that this was a learning experience for you, and I think it's a wonderful story behind it. I'm sure that this little story can go a long way in the long run.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

aww thanx!

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:50am

all about the back story!

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:11am

Educational! Where can I order my Bubbo Boy merch?

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:13am

Great game. Great music. Helping Bubbo grow to be big and healthy is satisfying. I also made a game in RenPy. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]