Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PlantGrow

by Muffinhat - Compo Entry

A game of plants, rain, and patience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Theme4.00
#323Innovation3.40
#460Graphics3.13
#545Fun3.07
#570Overall3.13
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

lgbpaiva says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:41am

Really nice design, I don't know if it's mean to be but sometimes the plant grow paralel branches and the flower jumps from one to another.

Dakkon69 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:30am

Looks neat, your web build resolution is all messed up though, lots of screen clipping, hope thats fixed by the final turn in! :)

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:56am

pretty cool idea :) but yea the window is a bit messed up but fullscreen worked well enough.

Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:53pm

That art though, awesome but simple!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Nice look to the game, although I wasn't exactly sure what I was doing :/ promising little idea though.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Very nice art, simple, but i didn't find any challenge.. The only challenge I found was to wait.. That's a shame because you could do better with your game, and his very great concept :)

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I really love the background, but i have to say, that paint SkillZ (sorry, not harm meant, i like the plant, but looks a little of the whole style looking at the rest (background, rain, and plants)) But still a cool game.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Neat game, i just would have prefared a "real time" aproach in growing the plant because the "round based"growing part feels kinda strange to me. STill a good job

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

The movement is kind of jumpy, but other than that it's great. :D

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I dig the step movement. Nice entry :)

Komradus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44am

I liked the colour scheme, it's quite a pretty game.

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I really like the visuals and the game fits perfectly into the theme, overall I kinda feel like there's a little bit missing from the game, but I also think that it's a good idea and can be improved :D

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:36am

The growing mechanics look really nice and smooth. The main issues I had with the game design were that I had to stop every couple moves to restock on water, and more importantly, that my plant got despawned as I went along.

I'd have loved to zoom out by the end of the game and see a giant branching behemoth that I've built.

Maybe in place of the red circles which force you back, you could have markers where you end that particular branch, leaving the flower there? Then you could assign a random position somewhere along the existing branch structure that the player could continue playing from. Aside from the resulting aesthetic, it'd mean mean the player could gather the water droplets more quickly as time went on. While they're a nice balancing mechanic early on, they quickly get tedious with having to constantly stop and wait. If you could grow out your water gathering operation, they'd remain a limiting factor early on but would become less of a bother late game.

Bugs:
-I ended up having two parallel stocks turning simultaneously, about 200px apart horizontally. The flower would jump between them if I mashed right or left enough.
-The A/D keys would become unresponsive if I turned too far in a given direction. Not sure if that's intentional or not, but I'd like to be able to make fuller spirals.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Excellent game with a great use of both theme! I think you did a very good job.

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:32pm

I found this really soothing to play. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]