Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super 2 Button Growdown

by ViKing Games - Compo Entry

Super Two Button Growdown is a 4-player game where you must jump on the heads of your opponents to be the last one standing. However, as players lose health, they'll also grow in size, making them able to jump higher and more easily hit opponents.

Characters are controlled by two buttons. The jump button makes your character jump (obviously). The movement button toggles your movement, making you either start or stop. Each time you stop your character will switch directions. Characters will always face the direction they're going to be moving in, so don't worry about remembering where you're going.

Default controls are based on the layout of a QWERTY keyboard, but they can be easily changed in-game. A mouse is required to navigate the menus.

(If people don't like the controls, I'll release another version without the 'two button controls' theme. Maybe. I tend to forget to do those types of things.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#150Humor3.23
#210Mood3.40
#222Audio3.21
#234Fun3.50
#278Overall3.50
#364Graphics3.32
#391Theme3.84
#478Innovation3.16
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

rogual says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

I enjoyed the Surf Ace cameo, it's always great to see some LD continuity.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Aw this was fun! Good idea and great presentation
I liked the sound when you finish a match :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Overall, I liked the idea and the execution. Unfortunately, I had to play it by myself. However that did leads to some fun new challenges I created for myself.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Cool game, hard controls though. I really liked the mood and music! You should rate more games so people can check this one out! :D

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Ben Eath: the Surf Ace!

Okay, there was other stuff too.

It bothered me that every player had the same walking speed, so you could have a stalemate by walking in the same direction if you wanted. That's a minor complaint though. Very enjoyable!

luke says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:50am

Fun and nice!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:05am

Was only able to play solo but I got it. Nice character select and artwork. Good implementation of 2 button controls. Can see where it would be confusing but that would only add to the fun on a local multiplayer game, and more chaos. People would adapt to the controls quickly.

mr. a says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:22am

Blast! That waggle-duck-thing in the second screenshot is a strong motivator for me to play, but there is no Mac build!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]