Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Twotris

by forer - Jam Entry

Z to move left, X to move right, Both to rotate.

I'm bad at coding!


I'm doing this because I wanted to force myself to do a coding project, and my previous experience with libgdx, or almost any games coding is almost nil. Everything is from scratch and I tried to avoid copypasting any code, and thanks for a lot of help from tann.

I learned a lot from this project and I'm glad I have a future repository to draw from, and a funny simple'ish game I can use as an example to friends.

ON THAT NOTE This game is a pile of trash and if you downloaded the actual thing instead of visiting it on the web build I'm so sorry and I really appreciate it.

Do not be afraid of rating this a 0 (and if you can give negative scores in LD I'd expect that). I made this to force myself to make this and learning was the primary motive, making something good was so out of scope that it never entered my mind.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#856Theme(Jam)3.19
#1011Graphics(Jam)1.90
#1051Innovation(Jam)1.35
#1089Fun(Jam)1.77
#1116Overall(Jam)2.09
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

The blocks themselves are jittery and Tetris doesn't lend itself to a 2 button scheme at all, but this is still pretty good considering I probably couldn't make a Tetris game in 48 hours.

concalf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17am

This is really hard on a qwertz layout keyboard! :)

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21am

I don't think your negativeness is warranted, this was actually a nice take on the theme! Nice job. :)

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21am

You should stop putting yourself down so much - what you did was the hardest step in becoming a game developer; you developed a game! Sure, you may have adapted a game that already existed, but you made it work - and work well. The controls took a bit of getting used to, but worked as advertised. Overall, you took a great first step and I can't wait to see what comes from you in later jams. Good luck to you and congratulations!

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23am

The fact that you took the opportunity to learn is great, and good job on completing your project in the process!
LibGDX 4 lyfe

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

You can be proud of what you acomplished code wise :) Well done

Reisen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17am

It's a good job for your first game!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:30am

I liked it, very nice job for a learning exercise as you mentioned. Besides the lack of sound and music, you managed to get tetris into a two button control scheme. I'd love it if the blocks moved a bit faster though and the screen was a bit taller.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:35pm

It's great that you made a game. Don't put yourself down to much. Just keep going and your games will get better and better!

Mantlair says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Well, as you said I dont wanna praise something I didnt actually enjoyed that much. But hey, nicely done. Kepp coming here. Also I actually liked the idea of using keys same time do something different. Good luck with your next projects!

Os_Reboot says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Solid entry. Not at the bottom of the pile, there are entries that are far worse. You submitted a functioning game, congrats!

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:31am

A bit jittery but it's a nice game

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:10am

Game Jams are a good way to motivate yourself into making stuff. You made something and you should feel good about that. Use it to learn from and keep making stuff. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]