Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Give and Take

by Move127 - Compo Entry

***********I suggest that you download the game if you want to play free mode. Free mode is pretty much unplayable in the web version*******

***********Check the guide in game if you are unsure of what you are supposed to do. Press space to open the menu and then click on guide.*******

Known Bugs:
An error will sometimes occur when you try to destroy a building or farm. I know what is causing it, but I won't fix it until after the competition. I have, however, uploaded a version that will let you keep playing after the error occurs.

Controls:
Left-click = give
Right-click = take
Space/Esc = open menu
If you're playing on the LD page, it is best to hit both fullscreen buttons. That way your space bar won't be interfering with the webpage.

Give and Take is a god game where the player is restricted to only two actions, giving and taking. When the player takes something from the world they must give it back before they can take something else.

I had this idea during a past LD, but the theme never matched it very well. With the dual theme this time, I thought it would be perfect. Not only are there only two actions in the game, there is an element of growth as well.

I like the idea of games with very few rules creating a lot of complexity. While this game has a lot of stuff going on, the underlying mechanics are easy to grasp.

There is a guide in game that has some information on the kinds of tiles and objects, but it is not complete. I thought it would be nice to leave a lot of discovery for the player.

Things I'd like to add in the future that I didn't have time for during LD:
Factions of people that war with each other
individual animal species
weather

Due to the large variety of possible worlds I thought it would be cool for people to share screenshots of their worlds. If you share a screenshot on twitter with #GiveandTakeLD, then I will try to respond with a heartfelt thank you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#147Theme4.11
#161Innovation3.71
#278Overall3.50
#313Audio3.02
#413Humor2.50
#519Fun3.11
#558Graphics2.96

Comments

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

I like God games, I like A-life, this seems to be a little of both so it makes me happy :) Still confused as all heck though but it's an interesting confusion.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Cool idea! Very fun overall. Audio is servicable.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Wow, that was extremely cool! I loved the interpretation of the theme, and the amount of complexity you managed to get out of it. Really well done, I'm impressed!

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

Very fun! Has a feel sort of like Act Raiser? I liked the way that things grew without your control, so the whole system kind of evolved while you tried to manage it. Would like to see this "grow" into a bigger game!

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

not sure if i understand how to get good at this, but i appreciate how different it is haha

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

This is awesome, I love seeing the growth and life happening. My only complaint is that after I set up the initial conditions, everything seems to happen on it's own and without any real problems. Making it less of a game and more of a fishbowl. Still awesome nonetheless.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

It's a little confusing, but still really neat.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44am

This is fun. This is perfect for a touch screen.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

a nice game, reminded me of populous

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Very relaxing to play and a great feel overall. Well done!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

Interesting game, though it seems my clicks sometimes dont do anything...

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51am

This is really cool, it was hella satisfying once I realized how to work the resource distribution. It threw some errors while I was playing, though, specifically when attempting to murder people.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

I'm confused on how to actually get anywhere in this game, but it was still very interesting and somewhat fun :D Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

Rules are a little too hard to figure out. But this is definitely my type of game! Great job

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

Interesting. Hard to tell what's happening, but interesting nonetheless!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

overall fun idea.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

A fun game, and while not much too it right now, I could see a lot of ways this could be expanded. Cool idea.

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

I will pay you money if you greenlight this title (at a much grander scale of course).

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47am

I didn't quite understand it at first, but then I read the guide and it all made sense. I even had two towns with farms on my island ^^ Nice little game and I love the music

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22am

wow, played for ages

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20am

It's amazing that you finished this in 48 hours. Then again, you're using Unity :P

Still, I love the idea of just letting the world develop on its own, occasionally pushing it like you would push a kid on a swing. Does that make sense? Nah, forget it. Still, awesome game!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Didn't really figure out the graphism (what is the light blue ?) but had fun playin god!
Good concept, music and introduction! I would have given a good mood note if it was availiable.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:34pm

The graphics were very cute.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47pm

I love god games! It is very interesting to try out different interactions but sometimes I don't know what I am doing. For example I have no idea what AV is. Eventually I got stuck because I don't have the place to place the mountain and the town seems to stop growing for some reason. It is fun though I enjoyed the game.I guess it should let the player to discover the interactions between object but it should at least show me what the object is.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24pm

A lot of fun just to mess around. Really good usage of the themes for direction.

I felt a little bad making the people become believers by hurting them, funny enough. The game is a bit of a statement in itself, lol.

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Great idea, things happen so fast it's hard to really appreciate the effects of your intervening though

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Very confusing.. o.O
click, click, things happen.. why?

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I haven't wrapped my head around how to navigate this properly, but there's something oddly satisfying about fostering human life from a single volcano. Bravo!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Love the idea. Also a bit confused as to whats going on! But was enjoying myself haha! Did get a crash after a few quick clicks :(

Gornova says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I love the idea and execution, perfect in theme, well done!

For who don't understand what is going on: just explore combinations, this is key point of the game!

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55am

Dont really understand what to do.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58am

I really tried with this one. the pictures looked amazing, but every time i just made volcanoes, and then eventually i couldn't do anything at all, so i was left with a bunch of stone and mountains. real shame too because the pictures look awesome. also, i'm not sure what the other symbol i got was. it kinda resembed a tribe maybe? it had a food counter on it whatever it was.

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Awesome idea! Like this game. Requires sometime to figure out what it going on)

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34am

It look like old colonisation! And played like B&W!
It freez me, i must was other games. ;)

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

i love that song

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

Nice idea. Good concept. Liked the music too. Good job.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

That was fun =). I got an exception when trying to drop water into the middle of my town. Maybe I shouldn't do that...

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Love the concept, even though I'm very lost on what I'm doing lol

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

Good use of both themes! I found it a bit difficult to figure out how to get everything to work, but it worked well in the time constraints.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31am

This is a very interesting game. I actually really like how hands off it can be. You only have to perform a few actions to get things going (it's a lot like Sim Earth, a little bit of tweaking, and not much micro managing). I did get an exception twice using the web build, both times while taking an item (once was a mountain, the other was a church). Unfortunately debug support wasn't turned on so I couldn't get you an specifics on the error.

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

i really do like this :D

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

Interesting game, I must say. :) Didn't get how each tile works, but I had fun none the less.

Silvio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34am

nice

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Very interesting game, actually spent quite some time watching how the land grows, etc. Well done!

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

good idea, it is a little confusing but i like it

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00pm

A nice entry. I loved the intro.

Namek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Performance is pretty bad :(

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

This game was amazing! Best of the ones I've tried.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

It's honestly a bit complicated for me. But very interesting for sure!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I honestly wasnt sure about this type of game and kinda didnt know what to do half way through but that music omg i loved it :) makes me way to get a little keyboard lol


ye i think with the additional features you mentioned this would turn into a great game would be good to see it fully done

Well Done!!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Audio is great and is a good god game.

oparisy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36pm

I'm not saying I understood the whole idea but there's a very pleasant feeling of cellular automata and god game here which made me nostalgic of my Populous days.

h.attila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:02am

Interesting idea. I couldn't always figure out the chain of events though.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Interesting game. This was a very creative interpretation of the theme. It was cool to see things combine in different ways to make the environment more varied. Great work!
I tweeted a picture of my world to #GiveandTakeLD

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

The game was confusing, but it was the kind of confusing that makes you want to figure out what's going on. Good job! I have wanted to make a game similar to this in the past, so I'm glad you uploaded your source. Thanks, and good job!

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21am

Interesting game. It took a little while to figure out how to get the tiles to do what I wanted but once I got it, it was pretty fun.

adamyounis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26am

I enjoyed this sim. You did well to model all of those phenomena in such an abstract game, everything felt reasonably balanced. I'm not sure I understood fully how I was interacting with the system, some kind of indicator would have helped. If you expand on this game, consider a growing world map! I'd love to see this happening at 5x the size :)

bushmango says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:15am

Cool! Sorry about your village, a volcano was needed there...

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:06am

Initially a little confusing, but the initial time investment was well-rewarded. Cool concept and a really unique take on the theme.

Neil says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Sounds intriguing, but I don't really get how it works.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

It was very difficult to understand the game at first. But once I understood it, it was interesting. Unfortunately, it does nor really communicate well, what combines into what. That makes it difficult to steer the game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XuTLfsOkf7k

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nice god-like game. Like other stated its hard to understand at first.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01am

That was a cool game. I plan on revisiting this one later. really liked how this incorporated both themes.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25am

Pretty interesting game, I liked the idea but I was a little bit confused. A lot of fun trying to control everything though!

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:33am

Strangely compelling even though I didn't always know what I was doing!

Baecun says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:53am

This game is amazing, I really hope with all my heart that you keep working on this, I'd love to play a finished version. The only thing I really think is missing is a way to kill the little ungrateful shits... '0 belief' ...

P.S: The joke about how the bible begins was hilarious, good job man!

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Likes:
God Game
Fits Theme
Simple Generates Complex
Pixel Art

deadpixl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Interesting, but a bit confusing. Enjoyed what i could figure out.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Awesome game, although I got way too confused playing it.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I got an exception in the web gl: ran out of memory

Pusty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Had much fun playing it! Nice concept!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:38am

Well, the game crashed XD
but in the second play i was able to create greens!! <3

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:21pm

I'm not 100% sure what's happening behind the scenes, but this is lovely. I like how it sort of grows a life of its own, allowing you to just watch it and be hypnotized :)

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:32pm

I couldn't figure out the growth rules, but it's very original. Good job!

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:04am

Nice game, it would be nice to have the tool tip tell you what the type of a tile is.

EwChap says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

Very interesting take on the theme and the god game genre.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:44am

Interesting concept. I like it a lot, but no idea what's going on. I figured out that different tiles can become other tiles, but not why, nor what the people needed or wanted.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice entry! I have been playing it for a long time to figure out how everything works. Then I read your description again to see there is a guide in-game and everything became clear haha. Well executed, good god-like game ;)

markusfisch says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Confusing but in a good way :) Very creative and funny!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]