Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Groth

by tharealjohn - Jam Entry

The Groth

Explore the depths of space as a magical creature who needs to consume tons of space junk to complete his goals of universal overload. Help groth reach his goal before he implodes from the pressure of his parents. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Controls:
Left Mouse: Accelerate
Right Mouse: Rotate

Pro tip* Watch out for larger objects, they might pull you into orbit.

Thanks for playing! We learned a lot and are really excited for the next LD. This is our first try with this team and we are happy to have a submission! We aimed to include both themes, Two Button Controls and Growth.

Programming:
Matt, Matt and John
Art/Sound:
Thomas and Matt

Background music by TheMysticBard.

* WebGL at the top is a little too big, so use the link below to open a new page if its annoying.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#266Audio(Jam)3.47
#375Theme(Jam)3.82
#584Mood(Jam)3.13
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#851Overall(Jam)2.94
#915Innovation(Jam)2.44
#985Fun(Jam)2.44
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32am

Playing my favorite genre - "assimilation". Unfortunately, many elements are missing - normal zoom, management, development, opportunities to incur "losses." We just "eat" and nothing can stop us, "finally." Unfinished Osmos / Solar2.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Great music! a bit hard to play though with the two button controls, but it fit the theme.

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Quite frustrating to only be able to turn in one direction. Otherwise the game works fine.

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08pm

The controls were challenging but not unfair. The music is an easy 5 star.

denycetm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

What if the controls were both thrusters and using both drove you forward but using one turned you around. Very much so like Solar 2 or maybe even katamari damacy.
The music was great. I really liked the character design. it seemed like it was an organic ship that had evolved to travel through space.
Some things to add would be an indicator for how far away the things are that the arrows point to. I travelled very far chasing one and never caught up to it.

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44pm

My score: 1220

The concept is classic but well done. The only problem for me is the controls. I understand that you wanted to use both themes, but rotating only with right click make the game pretty hard.

Or you could have make the character always moving forward and rotation left and right with the left and right mouse buttons.

Anyway, good job. :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:01am

Great exploration game. I enjoyed searching for and consuming weaker comets

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

An interesting take on a known and loved theme. I had to get used to the control scheme, but had a fun experience.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:50pm

What is the challenge? You just move around and eat stuff.

mikołak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Nice, simple game with all the components in place. Does get a bit monotonous 'though.

Also, regarding controls - I actually had a similar concept which I scrapped due to the potential for frustration with only one direction of rotation. And it seems that it indeed a problem.

Perhaps e.g. a double-click to switch direction would help?

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Quite decent musics, so moody :)
I like the ideas, but I think it's awkward that players only allowed to rotate in one direction.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:03pm

The game is a bit simple but a good starting point for something "bigger".
Probably, you should use a constant speed and use the two buttons to rotate the ship left and right...
The music is good!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Nice ambient, but the two button theme feels very artificial in this game and it could use more gameplay.

jackrugile says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:22pm

I love the mood and concept of this game. I think the viewport based on speed would be nice. For example, zooming out as you're moving faster. Also, one run, there was a set of 4 green arrows that I accelerated toward the entire game, full thrust, and never got to them. Not sure if it was a glitch or they just spawned REALLY far away. Either way, this game had a great mood and I loved the concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]